Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

121A.19 DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENING AID.
Each school year, the state must pay a district for each child or student screened by the
district according to the requirements of section 121A.17. The amount of state aid for each child
or student screened shall be: (1) $50 for a child screened at age three; (2) $40 for a child screened
at age four; (3) $30 for a child screened at age five or six prior to kindergarten; and (4) $30 for a
student screened within 30 days after first enrolling in a public school kindergarten if the student
has not previously been screened according to the requirements of section 121A.17. If this amount
of aid is insufficient, the district may permanently transfer from the general fund an amount that,
when added to the aid, is sufficient. Developmental screening aid shall not be paid for any student
who is screened more than 30 days after the first day of attendance at a public school kindergarten,
except if a student transfers to another public school kindergarten within 30 days after first
enrolling in a Minnesota public school kindergarten program. In this case, if the student has not
been screened, the district to which the student transfers may receive developmental screening aid
for screening that student when the screening is performed within 30 days of the transfer date.
History: 1991 c 265 art 4 s 7; 1993 c 224 art 4 s 18; 1998 c 397 art 3 s 67,103; art 11 s 3;
1999 c 205 art 1 s 40; 1Sp2005 c 5 art 7 s 3; 2006 c 282 art 2 s 5