Persons selling the products of the farm or garden occupied and cultivated by them, or to persons not regularly engaged in the business of manufacturing and selling food and who prepare food only on order of and for sale directly to the ultimate consumer, or to educational, charitable or religious organizations not regularly engaged in the business of manufacturing, processing, or selling food at their established educational, charitable or religious institutions.
A farmer slaughtering personal animals, rabbits or poultry, on the farmer's own farm for: (a) personal use; or (b) the use of the farmer's immediate family.
Trucks operating under a certificate or permit issued pursuant to chapter 221 or warehouse operators, other than cold storage warehouse operators, offering storage or warehouse facilities for compensation.
Persons whose principal mode of business is licensed under section 157.16 or 327.15; provided that the holding of any license pursuant to section 157.16 or 327.15 shall not exempt any person from the applicable requirements of the laws and rules administered by the commissioner, as they relate to composition, standards of identity, adulteration, labeling or misbranding of food.
Persons whose principal business is not food handling but who sell only ice manufactured and prepackaged by another, bottled or canned soft drinks, prepackaged candy or nuts at retail, or persons who for their own convenience or the convenience of their employees have available for rehydration and consumption on the premises such nonperishable items as dehydrated coffee, soup, hot chocolate or other dehydrated food or beverage.
A licensed pharmacy selling only food additives, food supplements, canned or prepackaged infant formulae, ice manufactured and packaged by another, or bottled or canned soft drinks and prepackaged candy or nuts at retail.
An individual who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food, as defined in rules adopted under section 31.11, at a community event or farmers' market with gross receipts of $5,000 or less in a calendar year from the prepared food items. If the food is not prepared in a kitchen that is licensed or inspected, the seller must post a visible sign or placard stating that: "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection." Prepared foods sold under this subdivision must be labeled to accurately reflect the name and address of the person preparing and selling the foods.
(a) A person who receives less than $5,000 in gross receipts in a calendar year from the sale of home-processed and home-canned food products and meets the requirements in clauses (1) to (5):
(1) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower;
(2) the products are home-processed and home-canned in Minnesota;
(3) the products are sold or offered for sale at a community or social event or a farmers' market in Minnesota;
(4) the seller displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating: "These canned goods are homemade and not subject to state inspection" unless the products were processed and canned in a kitchen that is licensed or inspected; and
(5) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this exemption is accurately labeled to provide the name and address of the person who processed and canned the goods and the date on which the goods were processed and canned.
(c) A person claiming an exemption under this subdivision is urged to:
(1) attend and successfully complete a better process school recognized by the commissioner; and
(2) have the recipe and manufacturing process reviewed by a person knowledgeable in the food canning industry and recognized by the commissioner as a process authority.
(d) The commissioner, in close cooperation with the commissioner of health and the Minnesota Extension Service, shall attempt to maximize the availability of information and technical services and support for persons who wish to home process and home can low acid and acidified food products.
Copyright © 2014 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.