Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

Resources

Topics

Recent History

221.031 INTRASTATE CARRIER; OPERATING REQUIREMENTS, EXEMPTIONS.
    Subdivision 1. Powers, duties, reports, limitations. (a) This subdivision applies to motor
carriers engaged in intrastate commerce.
(b) The commissioner shall prescribe rules for the operation of motor carriers, including their
facilities; accounts; leasing of vehicles and drivers; service; safe operation of vehicles; equipment,
parts, and accessories; hours of service of drivers; driver qualifications; accident reporting;
identification of vehicles; installation of safety devices; inspection, repair, and maintenance; and
proper automatic speed regulators if, in the opinion of the commissioner, there is a need for
the rules.
(c) The commissioner shall direct the repair and reconstruction or replacement of an
inadequate or unsafe motor carrier vehicle or facility. The commissioner may require the
construction and maintenance or furnishing of suitable and proper freight terminals, passenger
depots, waiting rooms, and accommodations or shelters in a city in this state or at a point on the
highway traversed which the commissioner, after investigation by the department, may deem just
and proper for the protection of passengers or property.
(d) The commissioner shall require holders of household goods mover permits to file annual
and other reports including annual accounts of motor carriers, schedules of rates and charges, or
other data by motor carriers, regulate motor carriers in matters affecting the relationship between
them and the traveling and shipping public, and prescribe other rules as may be necessary to carry
out the provisions of this chapter.
(e) A motor carrier subject to paragraph (d) but having gross revenues from for-hire
transportation in a calendar year of less than $200,000 may, at the discretion of the commissioner,
be exempted from the filing of an annual report, if instead the motor carrier files an abbreviated
annual report, in a form as may be prescribed by the commissioner, attesting that the motor
carrier's gross revenues did not exceed $200,000 in the previous calendar year. Motor carrier
gross revenues from for-hire transportation, for the purposes of this subdivision only, do not
include gross revenues received from the operation of school buses as defined in section 169.01,
subdivision 6
.
(f) The commissioner shall enforce sections 169.781 to 169.783.
    Subd. 2. Private carriers; operating requirements, exemptions. (a) This subdivision
applies to private carriers engaged in intrastate commerce.
(b) Private carriers operating vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000
pounds shall comply with those federal regulations incorporated by reference in:
(1) section 221.0314, subdivisions 2 to 5, for driver qualifications;
(2) section 221.0314, subdivision 9, for hours of service of drivers;
(3) section 221.0314, subdivision 6, for driving of motor vehicles;
(4) section 221.0314, subdivision 7, for parts and accessories necessary for safe operation;
and
(5) section 221.0314, subdivision 10, for inspection, repair, and maintenance.
(c) The rules for hours of service of drivers do not apply to private carriers who are (1)
public utilities as defined in section 216B.02, subdivision 4; (2) cooperative electric associations
organized under chapter 308A; (3) telephone companies as defined in section 237.01, subdivision
7
; or (4) engaged in the transportation of construction materials, tools and equipment from shop to
job site or job site to job site, for use by the private carrier in the new construction, remodeling, or
repair of buildings, structures or their appurtenances.
(d) The rules for driver qualifications and hours of service of drivers do not apply to vehicles
controlled by a farmer and operated by a farmer or farm employee to transport agricultural
products, farm machinery, or supplies to or from a farm if the vehicle is not used in the operations
of a motor carrier and not carrying hazardous materials of a type or quantity that requires the
vehicle to be marked or placarded in accordance with section 221.033.
(e) The rules for driver qualifications do not apply to a driver employed by a private carrier
while operating a lightweight vehicle.
    Subd. 2a. Agricultural exemptions. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2,
private carriers engaged in intrastate commerce and operating vehicles transporting agricultural
and other farm products within an area having a 50-mile radius from the business location of
the private carrier must comply only with the rules for driver qualifications; driving of motor
vehicles; and parts and accessories necessary for safe operation, except as provided in paragraphs
(b) and (c).
(b) A rear-end dump truck or other rear-unloading truck while being used for hauling
agricultural and other farm products from a place of production or on-farm storage site to a
place of processing or storage, is not subject to any rule of the commissioner requiring rear-end
protection, including a federal regulation adopted by reference.
(c) A private carrier operating a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 169.781,
subdivision 1
, must comply with sections 169.781 to 169.783.
    Subd. 2b. Other exemptions. From August 1, 1992, to August 1, 1994, the rules for hours
of service of drivers do not apply to a person exclusively engaged in the transportation of
asphalt cement, cementitious material, fly ash, or sod, construction debris, and solid waste when
transported by a transfer driver, when the transportation is provided within a radius of 100 miles
from (1) the person's home post office, or (2) a highway construction or maintenance site where
the asphalt cement, cementitious material, fly ash, or sod is being used.
    Subd. 3. Vehicle over 10,000 pounds not exempt. (a) This subdivision applies to persons
engaged in intrastate commerce who operate vehicles providing transportation described in
section 221.025 with a gross vehicle weight in excess of 10,000 pounds, except school buses,
commuter vans, and authorized emergency vehicles.
(b) Persons providing transportation described in section 221.025, clause (6), (10), (12), or
(13), must comply with the rules for driving of motor vehicles and for parts and accessories
necessary for safe operation.
(c) Persons providing transportation described in section 221.025, except for persons
providing transportation described in clause (6), (10), (12), or (13), must comply with the rules for
driving of motor vehicles; parts and accessories necessary for safe operation; and, after August 1,
1994, the rules for driver qualifications.
    Subd. 3a. Contractor or recipient of transportation assistance. (a) Notwithstanding
subdivision 3, providers of passenger transportation service under contract to and with operating
assistance from the department or the Metropolitan Council must comply with rules for driver
qualifications; driving of motor vehicles; parts and accessories necessary for safe operation;
hours of service of drivers; inspection, repair, and maintenance; and the rules adopted in section
221.0314, subdivision 8, for accident reporting.
(b) This subdivision does not apply to (1) a local transit commission, (2) a transit authority
created by the legislature, (3) special transportation service certified by the commissioner under
section 174.30, or (4) special transportation service defined in section 174.29, subdivision 1, when
provided by a volunteer driver operating a private passenger vehicle defined in section 169.01,
subdivision 3a
.
    Subd. 3b. Passenger transportation; exemptions. (a) A person who transports passengers
for hire in intrastate commerce, who is not made subject to the rules adopted in section 221.0314
by any other provision of this section, must comply with the rules for hours of service of drivers
while transporting employees of an employer who is directly or indirectly paying the cost of the
transportation.
(b) This subdivision does not apply to:
(1) a local transit commission;
(2) a transit authority created by law; or
(3) persons providing transportation:
(i) in a school bus as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 6;
(ii) in a Head Start bus as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 80;
(iii) in a commuter van;
(iv) in an authorized emergency vehicle as defined in section 169.01, subdivision 5;
(v) in special transportation service certified by the commissioner under section 174.30;
(vi) that is special transportation service as defined in section 174.29, subdivision 1, when
provided by a volunteer driver operating a private passenger vehicle as defined in section 169.01,
subdivision 3a
;
(vii) in a limousine the service of which is licensed by the commissioner under section
221.84; or
(viii) in a taxicab, if the fare for the transportation is determined by a meter inside the taxicab
that measures the distance traveled and displays the fare accumulated.
    Subd. 3c. Solid waste transporter not exempt. Persons providing transportation described
in section 221.025, clause (2), must comply with the rules for driver qualifications after August 1,
1994; hours of service of drivers; driving of motor vehicles; parts and accessories necessary for
safe operation; and inspection, repair, and maintenance. A local government unit, as defined in
section 115A.03, subdivision 17, shall not enact or enforce laws, ordinances, or regulations for
the operation of solid waste transporters that are inconsistent with the rules adopted in section
221.0314.
    Subd. 4.[Repealed, 1984 c 520 s 26]
    Subd. 5. Department investigates. The department shall investigate the operation of carriers
subject to the rules adopted in section 221.0314, their compliance with rules of the commissioner
and with the provisions of this chapter, and may institute and prosecute actions and proceedings in
the proper district court for enforcement of those rules.
    Subd. 6. Vehicle identification rule. (a) The following carriers shall display the carrier's
name and address on the power unit of each vehicle:
(1) motor carriers, regardless of the weight of the vehicle, except that this requirement
does not apply to a limousine as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 35, that is equipped
with "LM" license plates;
(2) interstate and intrastate private carriers operating vehicles with a gross vehicle weight
of more than 10,000 pounds; and
(3) vehicles providing transportation described in section 221.025 with a gross vehicle
weight of more than 10,000 pounds except those providing transportation described in section
221.025, clauses (1), (3), and (4).
Vehicles described in clauses (2) and (3) that are operated by farmers or farm employees and
have four or fewer axles are not required to comply with the vehicle identification rule of the
commissioner.
(b) Vehicles subject to this subdivision must show the name or "doing business as" name of
the carrier operating the vehicle and the community and abbreviation of the state in which the
carrier maintains its principal office or in which the vehicle is customarily based. If the carrier
operates a leased vehicle, it may show its name and the name of the lessor on the vehicle, if the
lease relationship is clearly shown. If the name of a person other than the operating carrier appears
on the vehicle, the words "operated by" must immediately precede the name of the carrier.
(c) The name and address must be in letters that contrast sharply in color with the
background, be readily legible during daylight hours from a distance of 50 feet while the vehicle
is stationary, and be maintained in a manner that retains the legibility of the markings. The name
and address may be shown by use of a removable device if that device meets the identification
and legibility requirements of this subdivision.
    Subd. 7. Medical examiner's certificate; passenger carrier driver. While in the state, the
driver for a motor carrier of passengers engaged in intrastate commerce who has in possession a
license with a school bus endorsement under section 171.321 or rules of the commissioner of
public safety is not required to have in possession or to present a separate medical examiner's
certificate otherwise required by Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 391.41 to 391.49.
    Subd. 8. Driveaway-towaway exemption. For purposes of regulating commercial motor
vehicles as defined in section 169.781, subdivision 1, the exemption provided in Code of
Federal Regulations, title 49, section 396.11, paragraph (d), applies in Minnesota only to
driveaway-towaway operations.
    Subd. 9. Out-of-service criteria adopted by reference. The North American Uniform
Driver, Vehicle, and Hazardous Materials Out-Of-Service Criteria developed and adopted by the
Federal Highway Administration and the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance are adopted in
Minnesota.
    Subd. 10. Controlled substance and alcohol use and testing exemption. A person who
or political subdivision of the state which is required to comply with the alcohol and controlled
substances testing requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 219, 382, 653, or
654, is exempt from sections 181.950 to 181.957 if the testing also complies with the procedures
for transportation workplace drug and alcohol testing programs in Code of Federal Regulations,
title 49, part 40.
History: Ex1957 c 17 s 3; 1965 c 120 s 1; 1969 c 1031 s 4; 1971 c 25 s 67; 1973 c 123 art 5
s 7; 1976 c 166 s 71; 1980 c 465 s 2; 1980 c 534 s 59; 1981 c 209 s 9; 1983 c 371 s 21; 1984 c 520
s 6-9; 1985 c 299 s 18,19; 1987 c 54 s 1; 1988 c 544 s 5-9; 1989 c 118 s 1; 1989 c 122 s 3; 1989 c
318 s 9; 1989 c 356 s 11,23,24; 1990 c 372 s 1; 1990 c 462 s 5; 1990 c 563 s 4-6; 1990 c 588 s 1;
1991 c 333 s 33; 1992 c 568 s 2; 1992 c 578 s 20-27; 1993 c 117 s 10-19; 1994 c 603 s 21; 1994 c
628 art 3 s 19; 1995 c 265 art 2 s 21; 1996 c 377 s 6; 1999 c 238 art 2 s 46-49; 2001 c 213 s 30

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569