This is an historical version of this statute chapter. Also view the most recent published version.
(a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
(b) "Cultured dairy food" means a dairy product other than a grade A cultured dairy product.
(c) "Minnesota farmstead cheese" means cheese manufactured within the state of Minnesota on the same farm on which the milk is produced that is used in the manufacture.
(a) Milk used to manufacture Minnesota farmstead cheese may not be more than 48 hours old when used.
(b) Before requiring pasteurization, the commissioner shall provide a plan at least 60 days before the next inspection to the manufacturer to assist the manufacturer in meeting the processing and facility requirements. The commissioner may require pasteurization if test samples demonstrate cheese and cultured dairy foods are not free of pathogens. The commissioner must inspect facilities at least four times each year.
No cheese or packaged cheese that is sold, offered, or exposed for sale or held in possession with intent to sell at either retail or wholesale within this state may be labeled or described as "Minnesota farmstead cheese" unless it meets the criteria set forth in subdivision 1, and the manufacturer has obtained a written permit to use the name from the commissioner of agriculture, or the commissioner's designate.
The commissioner or the commissioner's designate shall issue a permit authorizing the use of the name "Minnesota farmstead cheese" upon application made therefor on forms furnished by the commissioner, if the commissioner or the commissioner's designate is satisfied that the cheese manufactured by the applicant meets the requirements prescribed by subdivision 1. The commissioner or the commissioner's designated agents shall inspect the farm at reasonable times to insure compliance with subdivision 1. The permit may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner if the commissioner finds that the permittee is not in compliance with subdivision 1.
Copyright © 2016 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.