Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Waivers.

When a licensee documents to the commissioner's satisfaction that the person is unable, and will continue to be unable, to attend actual classroom course work or complete a self-study program because of a physical disability, medical condition, or similar reason, attendance at continuing education courses may be waived for a period not to exceed one year. The commissioner may require that the individual read, listen to, or watch a sufficient number of materials related to that industry as would be necessary for the licensee to satisfy educational credit hour needs. The commissioner will award the licensee credit hours by determining how many credit hours would be granted to a classroom course involving the same material.

Subd. 2.Extensions.

When a licensee documents to the commissioner's satisfaction that the person is unable to complete continuing education requirements within the required time period owing to a financial or medical hardship, the commissioner may extend, for up to 90 days, the time period during which the continuing education must be successfully completed. Loss of income from either attendance at courses or cancellation of a license is not a bona fide financial hardship. Requests for extensions must be submitted in writing no later than 60 days before the education is due and must include an explanation with verification of the hardship, plus verification of enrollment in an approved course of study.

Subd. 3.Exception.

This section does not apply to appraiser license education.


2009 c 63 s 23

NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 2009, chapter 63, section 23, is effective July 1, 2010. Laws 2009, chapter 63, section 78.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes