Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142I.09 SUBSTITUTE CAREGIVERS AND REPLACEMENTS.

Subdivision 1.Total hours allowed.

The use of a substitute caregiver in a family child care program is limited to a cumulative total of not more than 500 hours annually. When a substitute is used, prior to the end of each business day the license holder must document the name, date, and number of hours of each substitute who provided care.

Subd. 2.Emergency replacement supervision.

(a) In an emergency, a license holder may allow an adult who has not completed the training requirements under this chapter or the background study requirements under chapter 245C to supervise children in a family child care program. For purposes of this subdivision, "emergency" means a situation in which the license holder has begun operating the family child care program for the day and for reasons beyond the control of the license holder, including but not limited to a serious illness or injury, accident, or situation requiring the immediate attention of the license holder, the license holder needs to leave the licensed space and close the program for the day.

(b) To the extent practicable, the license holder must attempt to arrange for emergency care by a substitute caregiver before using an emergency replacement.

(c) When an emergency occurs:

(1) the license holder or emergency replacement must contact the parents of the children attending the family child care program and inform the parents that the program is closing for the day and that the children need to be picked up as soon as practicable;

(2) the license holder must not knowingly use a person as an emergency replacement who has committed an action or has been convicted of a crime that would cause the person to be disqualified from providing care to children if a background study was conducted under chapter 245C;

(3) the license holder must make reasonable efforts to minimize the amount of time the emergency replacement has unsupervised contact with the children in care not to exceed 12 hours per emergency incident;

(4) the family child care program must be closed for the day once the last unrelated child has left the program; and

(5) the license holder must notify the county licensing agency within seven days that an emergency replacement was used and specify the circumstances that led to the use of the emergency replacement.

(d) The county licensing agency must notify the commissioner within three business days after receiving the license holder's notice that an emergency replacement was used and specify to the commissioner the circumstances that led to the use of the emergency replacement.

(e) A license holder is not required to provide the names of persons who may be used as replacements in emergencies to parents or the county licensing agency. However, once an emergency replacement has been used, the license holder must provide the name of the individual used to the county licensing agency.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, sections 1 to 23, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, section 26.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes