2026 Minnesota Statutes
142I.10 APPLICANT, PRIMARY PROVIDER OF CARE, AND SECOND ADULT CAREGIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.
Subdivision 1.Initial training; applicant, primary provider of care, and second adult caregiver.
(a) Before providing care, an applicant, a primary provider of care, and each second adult caregiver must have completed all required initial training within the prior 24 months.
(b) Initial training does not need to be completed before providing care in the following circumstances:
(1) a primary provider of care who voluntarily closes a license and reopens within 12 months has one year from the new license's effective date to complete annual and ongoing training and is exempt from repeating initial training;
(2) a primary provider of care who relocates within the state has until the end of the calendar year to complete annual and ongoing training and is not required to repeat initial training previously completed; and
(3) a primary provider of care who relocates to a new county must not be required by the new county to complete orientation or other training required for new applicants.
(c) Each applicant, primary provider of care, and second adult caregiver must complete and document the following before providing care:
(1) at least four hours of child development, learning, or behavior guidance training. An individual is exempt if the individual provides documentation verifying that the individual:
(i) has completed a three-credit early childhood development course within the past five years;
(ii) holds a baccalaureate or master's degree in early childhood education or school-age child care;
(iii) holds a Minnesota teaching license in early childhood education, kindergarten through grade 6, or special education; or
(iv) holds a Montessori certificate;
(2) the six-hour supervising for safety for family child care course developed by the commissioner;
(3) pediatric first aid training provided by an instructor certified to teach pediatric first aid. Current training documentation must be maintained at the family child care program and made available upon request. Online training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies this requirement;
(4) pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training that:
(i) is instructor led or blended with a hands-on skills component. Online-only CPR courses without a hands-on component do not meet this requirement;
(ii)(A) is developed by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross; or
(B) uses nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training; and
(iii) is provided by an instructor approved by the commissioner to teach CPR;
(5) for programs licensed for children younger than school age, training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, which may be combined in a single commissioner-approved course. This training must, at a minimum, address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma and the means of reducing the risk of each;
(6) training on proper use and installation of child passenger restraint systems under section 169.685 of at least one hour in length that is provided by an instructor certified and approved by the Department of Public Safety. At a minimum, the training must address the proper use of child restraint systems based on the child's size, weight, and age and the proper installation of a car seat or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the caregiver to transport the child or children. This requirement does not apply to family child care programs that transport only school-age children as defined in section 142I.01, subdivision 5, paragraph (e), in child care buses as defined in section 169.448, subdivision 1, paragraph (e);
(7) training on the child care emergency plan required under section 142I.19, subdivision 2;
(8) training on allergy prevention and response required under section 142I.06, subdivision 5, paragraph (b);
(9) training on the community-based family child care program plan required under section 142I.22, if applicable;
(10) training on the family child care program policies and procedures required under section 142I.06;
(11) training on reporting suspected maltreatment of children as required under chapter 260E; and
(12) swimming pool training under section 142I.14, subdivision 6, if a pool at the family child care program is used by children in care.
(d) County licensing staff must accept approved training on the primary provider of care or second adult caregiver's learning record in the Develop data system for early education and school-age care.
Subd. 2.Annual training; primary provider of care and second adult caregiver.
(a) A primary provider of care and each second adult caregiver must annually complete and document the following training:
(1) at least two hours of child development, learning, or behavior guidance training. A three-credit early childhood development course completed within the calendar year meets this requirement;
(2) a two-hour active supervision course developed or approved by the commissioner;
(3) training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death if caring for infants and training on reducing the risk of abusive head trauma if caring for children under school age, which must:
(i) be completed in person or online at least once every two years; and
(ii) in alternating years, be completed through a commissioner-approved video not exceeding one hour in length; and
(4) at least four hours of ongoing training each calendar year that must include topics identified in the Minnesota knowledge and competency framework. Repeat of topical training requirements in subdivision 1 counts toward the annual ten-hour requirement.
(b) A caregiver who is approved as a trainer through the Develop data system may count up to two hours of training instruction toward the annual ten-hour training requirement in paragraph (a), clause (4), if:
(1) the training is the first instance in which the caregiver delivers a particular content-specific training during each training year;
(2) the caregiver is a Develop-approved active trainer; and
(3) the hours counted as training instruction are approved through the Develop data system with attendance verified on the trainer's individual learning record and are in the knowledge and competency framework content areas VII A, establishing healthy practices, or B, ensuring safety.
(c) Unless specifically authorized in this section, one training does not fulfill two different training requirements. Courses within the identified knowledge and competency areas that are specific to child care centers or legal nonlicensed programs do not fulfill the requirements of this section.
(d) County licensing staff must accept training designated by the commissioner as satisfying training requirements if the training is within the knowledge and competency framework for child development and learning, behavior guidance, and active supervision as indicated on the department's website.
Subd. 3.Ongoing training; primary provider of care and second adult caregiver.
(a) A primary provider of care and each second adult caregiver must complete and document the following training:
(1) pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation training that meets the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (4), and is repeated every two years within 90 days of the second anniversary of the previous training. Documentation must be maintained at the family child care program or electronically and made available upon request;
(2) pediatric first aid training by a certified instructor repeated every two years within 90 days of the second anniversary of the previous training. Documentation of the training must be maintained at the family child care program or electronically and made available upon request;
(3) commissioner-developed Health and Safety I and Health and Safety II training at least once every five years. Completion of either course in a given year meets the annual active supervision training requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2);
(4) proper use and installation of child passenger restraint systems under section 169.685 that meets the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (6), and is repeated at least once every five years. This requirement does not apply to family child care programs that transport only school-age children as defined in section 142I.01, subdivision 5, paragraph (e), in child care buses as defined in section 169.448, subdivision 1, paragraph (e); and
(5) fire safety training developed by the State Fire Marshal's Office that must be completed once every five years.
(b) If a license holder changes any of the policies and procedures under section 142I.06, subdivision 5, the primary provider of care and each second adult caregiver must review the revised policies and procedures within ten days of the change.
(c) The license holder must maintain documentation of each review of the revised policies and procedures at the family child care program. The documentation requirements under this paragraph may be met by a date noted on the revised policies or procedures.
Subd. 4.Commissioner designated training.
Training designated by the commissioner satisfies the training requirements under this section if the training is within the knowledge and competency framework for child development and learning, behavior guidance, and active supervision, as indicated on the department's website.
History:
2007 c 112 s 22: 2009 c 26 s 4; 2009 c 142 art 2 s 21; 2010 c 329 art 1 s 11; 2013 c 108 art 3 s 21; 2014 c 228 art 2 s 14; 2014 c 291 art 1 s 4; 2015 c 21 art 1 s 47; 2015 c 78 art 4 s 32; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 7 s 24; art 16 s 14-16; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 2 s 53; 1Sp2020 c 2 art 1 s 11; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 2 s 9,10; 2023 c 70 art 8 s 27-31; 2024 c 80 art 2 s 74; art 8 s 70; 2024 c 115 art 15 s 3,4; art 16 s 41; 1Sp2025 c 3 art 14 s 13,14; 2026 c 127 art 13 s 10
NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, sections 1 to 23, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, section 26.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes