Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142I.08 QUALIFICATIONS.

Subdivision 1.Age.

An applicant for a family child care license must be an adult at the time of application.

Subd. 2.Physical and behavioral health.

(a) An adult caregiver must be physically and mentally able to care for children. An applicant or primary provider of care must provide documentation to the agency along with the license application verifying that the applicant has had a physical examination by a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant within 12 months prior to the application for initial licensure and that the applicant or primary provider of care is physically able to care for children. Prior to assisting in the care of children, the applicant must also provide documentation verifying that any adult caregiver has had a physical examination by a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant within the past 12 months and is physically able to care for children.

(b) The commissioner may require a caregiver to provide reports on the caregiver's physical or mental health from a health care provider when there is reason to believe that a caregiver exhibits physical or mental health symptoms that could impair the caregiver's ability to ensure the health and safety of children. The reports must not be used for any other purpose than to determine whether the caregiver's physical or mental health impacts the health and safety of children.

Subd. 3.Additional class C5 license requirements.

(a) An applicant or primary provider of care receiving a class C5 license must have at least one of:

(1) a minimum of one year of substantial compliance with this chapter as a Minnesota-licensed family child care license holder, primary provider of care, or second adult caregiver and a minimum of 1,500 hours of direct care in a family child care program serving children;

(2) a minimum of six months of substantial compliance with this chapter as a family child care license holder, primary provider of care, or second adult caregiver in Minnesota and:

(i) a minimum of 520 hours of experience as an assistant teacher, student teacher, or intern in an elementary school, after-school program, or Minnesota-licensed child care center or as an adult caregiver in a Minnesota-licensed family child care program and 30 hours of child care, health, and nutrition training as specified in section 142I.10; or

(ii) a minimum of 520 hours of experience as a licensed practical or registered nurse, and 30 hours of child development or early childhood education training, as specified in section 142I.10;

(3) certification or licensure indicating completion of one of the following:

(i) a two-year child development or early childhood education associate or certificate program at an accredited college or university;

(ii) a child development associate certification;

(iii) a certification from a recognized Montessori organization;

(iv) a bachelor's degree or higher in early childhood education from an accredited college or university; or

(v) an elementary education degree from an accredited college or university that includes a minimum of 30 hours of child development training; or

(4) six months' experience working an average of 30 hours a week or more as a teacher, as defined in section 142H.06, at a Minnesota-licensed child care center.

(b) An applicant or primary provider of care must complete an additional large group training created by the commissioner as a condition of receiving a class C5 license.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, sections 1 to 23, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, section 26.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes