2026 Minnesota Statutes
142H.07 ASSISTANT TEACHERS.
Subdivision 1.Assistant teacher general qualifications.
An assistant teacher must work under the supervision of a teacher and be:
(1) at least 18 years old; and
(2) a graduate of a high school or hold an equivalent diploma attained through successful completion of the commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency test.
Subd. 2.Assistant teacher education and experience requirements.
In addition to the general requirements in subdivision 1, an assistant teacher must have at least one of:
(1) at least six postsecondary semester credits;
(2) at least 50 hours of commissioner-approved training within the previous five years. After initial qualification, an assistant teacher qualified under this clause must fulfill at least 50 percent of in-service training requirements under section 142H.09, subdivision 9, with commissioner-approved trainings; or
(3) at least 160 hours of experience and be making progress toward any of the teacher qualifications in section 142H.06, subdivision 2, clauses (3) to (6). An assistant teacher qualified under this clause must be able to provide:
(i) documentation of current enrollment; and
(ii) evidence of working toward the successful completion of the credential.
History:
NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, sections 1 to 37, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, section 41.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes