Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142H.06 TEACHERS.

Subdivision 1.Teacher general qualifications.

A teacher must:

(1) be at least 18 years old; and

(2) be a graduate of a high school or hold an equivalent diploma attained through successful completion of the commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency test pursuant to section 124D.549.

Subd. 2.Teacher education and experience requirements.

In addition to the general requirements in subdivision 1, a teacher must have at least one of:

(1) 12 postsecondary semester credits and 480 hours of experience;

(2) 100 hours of commissioner-approved training within the previous five years and 480 hours of experience. After initial qualification, a teacher qualified under this clause must fulfill at least 50 percent of in-service training requirements under section 142H.09, subdivision 10, with commissioner-approved trainings;

(3) a credential or diploma from the American Montessori Society, Association Montessori International, or an institution accredited by the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education;

(4) an accredited certificate in child development or early childhood education from a postsecondary institution;

(5) an accredited diploma, associate's degree, or bachelor's degree in child development or early childhood education from a postsecondary institution; or

(6) a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, sections 1 to 37, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, section 41.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes