Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142H.08 AIDES, VOLUNTEERS, AND SUBSTITUTES.

Subdivision 1.Aide qualifications.

(a) An aide must work under the supervision of a teacher or assistant teacher, except when performing the tasks in paragraph (b). An aide must be used pursuant to the staff distribution requirements in section 142H.10, subdivision 2.

(b) An aide may work without being supervised by a teacher or assistant teacher when they are assisting with the supervision of sleeping children; assisting children with washing, toileting, and diapering; or accompanying children to and from the bus stop.

(c) An aide must be at least 16 years old.

Subd. 2.Volunteers.

(a) A volunteer may work as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or substitute if the volunteer meets the requirements of that position.

(b) The license holder must maintain a list of all volunteers with relevant information, including first and last name, whether the volunteer must be supervised at all times or may occasionally be unsupervised, and the first date of direct contact with children.

(c) Unsupervised volunteers must successfully complete training as required in section 142H.09.

(d) Supervised volunteers must successfully complete the training required in section 142H.09, subdivision 6.

Subd. 3.Substitutes.

(a) A substitute must either meet the requirements for the assigned staff position or be designated as an unqualified substitute by the director or the director designee. A director or director designee can designate a substitute as unqualified if:

(1) a teacher is continuously on site, except as provided in section 142H.10, subdivision 2, paragraph (e);

(2) when substituting as a teacher or assistant teacher, the unqualified substitute is aware of the unqualified substitute's designated staffing position; and

(3) the unqualified substitute is at least 18 years of age.

(b) All substitutes must successfully complete the required training under section 142H.09.

Subd. 4.Tracking unqualified substitute hours.

(a) The license holder must document the use of unqualified substitute hours on the day the unqualified substitute works.

(b) In a calendar year, a license holder must not use unqualified substitutes more than 60 hours multiplied by the number of the center's classrooms.

(c) A license holder must maintain a log of the use of unqualified substitutes in the center administrative record for review by the commissioner. The log must be on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, sections 1 to 37, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, section 41.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes