Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

82.24 FEES.
    Subdivision 1.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subdivision 1]
    Subdivision 1. Amounts. The following fees shall be paid to the commissioner:
    (a) a fee of $150 for each initial individual broker's license, and a fee of $100 for each
renewal thereof;
    (b) a fee of $70 for each initial salesperson's license, and a fee of $40 for each renewal thereof;
    (c) a fee of $85 for each initial real estate closing agent license, and a fee of $60 for each
renewal thereof;
    (d) a fee of $150 for each initial corporate, limited liability company, or partnership license,
and a fee of $100 for each renewal thereof;
    (e) a fee for payment to the education, research and recovery fund in accordance with
section 82.43;
    (f) a fee of $20 for each transfer;
    (g) a fee of $50 for license reinstatement;
    (h) a fee of $20 for reactivating a corporate, limited liability company, or partnership
license without land; and
    (i) in addition to the fees required under this subdivision, individual licensees under clauses
(a) and (b) shall pay, for each initial license and renewal, a technology surcharge of up to $40 under
section 45.24, unless the commissioner has adjusted the surcharge as permitted under that section.
    Subd. 2.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 2]
    Subd. 2. Forfeiture. All fees shall be retained by the commissioner and shall be
nonreturnable, except that an overpayment of any fee shall be the subject of a refund upon proper
application.
    Subd. 3.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 3]
    Subd. 3. Broker payment consolidation. For all license renewal fees, recovery fund
renewal fees, and recovery fund assessments pursuant to this section and section 82.43, the
broker must remit the fees or assessments for the company, broker, and all salespersons licensed
to the broker, in the form of a single check.
    Subd. 4.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 4]
    Subd. 4. Deposit of fees. Unless otherwise provided by this chapter, all fees collected under
this chapter shall be deposited in the state treasury. The technology surcharge shall be deposited
as required under section 45.24.
    Subd. 5.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 5]
    Subd. 5. Initial license expiration; fee reduction. If an initial license issued under
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), or (d) expires less than 12 months after issuance, the license
fee shall be reduced by an amount equal to one-half the fee for a renewal of the license.
    Subd. 6.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 6]
    Subd. 6. Cash not accepted. All fees must be paid by check, draft, credit card, or other
negotiable or nonnegotiable instrument or order of withdrawal that is drawn against funds held by
a financial institution. Cash will not be accepted.
    Subd. 7.MS 2002 [Renumbered 82.50, subd 7]
    Subd. 7. Overpayment of fees. An overpayment of a fee paid pursuant to this chapter
shall be refunded within a reasonable time after a letter requesting the refund is received by the
commissioner and signed by the person making the overpayment.
Refunds shall not be given for other than overpayment of fees. A request for a refund of
an overpayment must be received by the commissioner within six months of the date of deposit
or it will be forfeited.
    Subd. 8.[Renumbered 82.50, subd 8]
History: 1973 c 410 s 5; 1979 c 144 s 2; 1980 c 614 s 75; 1984 c 552 s 10; 1987 c 336 s 22;
1989 c 347 s 17; 1992 c 513 art 3 s 28; 1993 c 309 s 11,12; 1993 c 369 s 45; 1994 c 632 art 4 s
34,35; 1997 c 200 art 1 s 48; 2004 c 203 art 2 s 38,39,61; 2007 c 57 art 3 s 36,37

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569