Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

357.18 COUNTY RECORDER.

Subdivision 1.County recorder fees.

The fees to be charged by the county recorder shall be and not exceed the following:

(1) for indexing and recording any deed or other instrument a fee of $46; $10.50 shall be paid to the state treasury and credited to the general fund; $10 shall be deposited in the technology fund pursuant to subdivision 4; and $25.50 shall be deposited in the county general fund;

(2) for documents containing multiple assignments, partial releases or satisfactions a fee of $46; if the document cites more than four recorded instruments, an additional fee of $10 for each additional instrument cited over the first four citations;

(3) for certified copies of any records or papers, $10;

(4) for a noncertified copy of any instrument or writing on file or recorded in the office of the county recorder, or any specified page or part of it, an amount as determined by the county board for each page or fraction of a page specified. If computer or microfilm printers are used to reproduce the instrument or writing, a like amount per image;

(5) for an abstract of title, the fees shall be determined by resolution of the county board duly adopted upon the recommendation of the county recorder, and the fees shall not exceed $10 for every entry, $100 for abstract certificate, $1 per page for each exhibit included within an abstract as a part of an abstract entry, and $5 per name for each required name search certification;

(6) for a copy of an official plat filed pursuant to section 505.08, the fee shall be $10 and an additional $5 shall be charged for the certification of each plat;

(7) for filing an amended floor plan in accordance with chapter 515, an amended condominium plat in accordance with chapter 515A, or a common interest community plat or amendment complying with section 515B.2-110, subsection (c), the fee shall be 50 cents per apartment or unit with a minimum fee of $56;

(8) for a copy of a floor plan filed pursuant to chapter 515, a copy of a condominium plat filed in accordance with chapter 515A, or a copy of a common interest community plat complying with section 515B.2-110, subsection (c), the fee shall be $1 for each page of the floor plan, condominium plat or common interest community plat with a minimum fee of $10;

(9) for recording any plat, a fee of $56, of which $10.50 must be paid to the state treasury and credited to the general fund, $10 must be deposited in the technology fund pursuant to subdivision 4, and $35.50 must be deposited in the county general fund; and

(10) for a noncertified copy of any document submitted for recording, if the original document is accompanied by a copy or duplicate original, $2. Upon receipt of the copy or duplicate original and payment of the fee, a county recorder shall return it marked "copy" or "duplicate," showing the recording date and, if available, the document number assigned to the original.

Subd. 1a.Abstracting service fees.

Fees fixed by or established pursuant to subdivision 1 shall be the maximum fee charged in all counties where the county recorder performs abstracting services and shall be charged by persons authorized to perform abstracting services in county buildings pursuant to section 386.18.

Subd. 2.Fees for recording instruments in county recorder office.

Notwithstanding the provisions of any special law to the contrary, the established fees pursuant to subdivision 1 shall be the fee charged in all counties for the specified service, other than Uniform Commercial Code documents, and documents filed or recorded pursuant to sections 270C.63, subdivision 6, 272.481 to 272.488, 277.20, and 386.77.

Subd. 3.

[Repealed by amendment, 2005 c 136 art 14 s 6]

Subd. 4.Technology fund.

The $10 fee collected under subdivision 1, clause (1), shall be deposited in a technology fund for obtaining, maintaining, and updating current technology and equipment to provide services from the record system. The fund shall be disbursed at the county recorder's discretion to provide modern information services from the records system. The fund is a supplemental fund and shall not be construed to diminish the duty of the county governing body to furnish funding for expenses and personnel necessary in the performance of the duties of the office pursuant to section 386.015, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2), and to comply with the requirements of section 357.182.

Subd. 5.Variance from standards.

A document should conform to the standards in section 507.093, paragraph (a), but should not be rejected unless the document is not legible or cannot be archived. This subdivision applies only to documents dated after July 31, 1997, and does not apply to Minnesota uniform conveyancing blanks on file in the office of the commissioner of commerce provided for under section 507.09, certified copies, or any other form provided for under Minnesota Statutes.

Subd. 6.Registrar of titles' fees.

The fees to be charged by the registrar of titles are in sections 508.82 and 508A.82.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569