Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

168.021 PLATES FOR PHYSICALLY DISABLED PERSONS.

Subdivision 1.Disability plates; application.

(a) When a motor vehicle registered under section 168.017, a motorcycle as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 19, a one-ton pickup truck as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 21b, or a self-propelled recreational vehicle as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 27, is owned or primarily operated by a permanently physically disabled person or a custodial parent or guardian of a permanently physically disabled minor, the owner may apply for and secure from the commissioner (1) immediately, a temporary permit valid for 30 days if the applicant is eligible for the disability plates issued under this section and (2) two disability plates with attached emblems, one plate to be attached to the front, and one to the rear of the motor vehicle, truck, or recreational vehicle, or, in the case of a motorcycle, one disability plate the same size as a regular motorcycle plate.

(b) The commissioner shall not issue more than one plate to the owner of a motorcycle and not more than one set of plates to any owner of another vehicle described in paragraph (a) at the same time unless the state Council on Disability approves the issuance of a second plate or set of plates to an owner.

(c) When the owner first applies for the disability plate or plates, the owner must submit a medical statement in a format approved by the commissioner under section 169.345, or proof of physical disability provided for in that section.

(d) No medical statement or proof of disability is required when an owner applies for a plate or plates for one or more vehicles listed in paragraph (a) that are specially modified for and used exclusively by permanently physically disabled persons.

(e) The owner of a vehicle listed in paragraph (a) may apply for and secure (i) immediately, a permit valid for 30 days, if the applicant is eligible to receive the disability plate or plates issued under this section, and (ii) a disability plate or plates for the vehicle if:

(1) the owner employs a permanently physically disabled person who would qualify for the disability plate or plates under this section; and

(2) the owner furnishes the motor vehicle to the physically disabled person for the exclusive use of that person in the course of employment.

Subd. 1a.Scope of privilege.

If a physically disabled person parks a vehicle described in subdivision 1, displaying the disability plate or plates described in this section, or a permit valid for 30 days and issued to an eligible person awaiting receipt of the disability plate or plates described in this section, or any person parks the motor vehicle for a physically disabled person, that person is entitled to park the motor vehicle as provided in section 169.345.

Subd. 2.Plate design; furnished by commissioner.

The commissioner shall design and furnish two disability plates, or one disability plate for a motorcycle that is the same size as a regular motorcycle plate, with attached emblem or emblems to an eligible owner. The emblem must bear the internationally accepted wheelchair symbol, as designated in section 326B.106, subdivision 9, approximately three inches square. The emblem must be large enough to be visible plainly from a distance of 50 feet. An applicant eligible for a disability plate or plates shall pay the motor vehicle registration fee authorized by sections 168.013 and 168.09.

Subd. 2a.Plate transfer.

(a) When ownership of a vehicle described in subdivision 1, is transferred, the owner of the vehicle shall remove the disability plate or plates. The buyer of the motor vehicle is entitled to receive a regular plate or plates for the vehicle without further cost for the remainder of the registration period.

(b) Notwithstanding section 168.12, subdivision 1, the disability plate or plates may be transferred to a replacement vehicle on notification to the commissioner. However, the disability plate or plates may not be transferred unless the replacement vehicle (1) is listed under section 168.012, subdivision 1, and, in case of a single plate for a motorcycle, the replacement vehicle is a motorcycle, and (2) is owned or primarily operated by the permanently physically disabled person.

Subd. 2b.When not eligible.

On becoming ineligible for the disability plate or plates, the owner of the motor vehicle shall remove the disability plate or plates. The owner may receive regular plates for the vehicle without further cost for the remainder of the registration period.

Subd. 3.Penalties for unauthorized use of plates.

(a) A person who uses the disability plate or plates or permit provided under this section on a motor vehicle in violation of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, and is subject to a fine of $500. This subdivision does not preclude a person who is not physically disabled from operating a vehicle bearing the disability plates or permit if:

(1) the person is the owner of the vehicle described in subdivision 1 and permits its operation by a physically disabled person;

(2) the person operates the vehicle with the consent of the owner who is physically disabled; or

(3) the person is the owner of the vehicle, is the custodial parent or guardian of a permanently physically disabled minor, and operates the vehicle to transport the minor.

(b) A driver who is not disabled is not entitled to the parking privileges provided in this section and in section 169.346 unless parking the vehicle for a physically disabled person.

Subd. 4.Fees; disposition.

All fees collected from the sale of a disability plate or plates under this section must be deposited in the state treasury to the credit of the vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1.

Subd. 5.Definitions.

For the purposes of this section, the term "physically disabled person" has the meaning given it in section 169.345, subdivision 2.

Subd. 6.Driver's license law not affected.

This section must not be construed to revoke, limit, or amend chapter 171.

Subd. 7.

[Repealed, 1987 c 355 s 10]

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569