Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Grant allowed.

The commissioner may provide a grant to a qualified job training program from money appropriated for the purposes of this section as follows:

(1) an $11,000 placement grant paid to a job training program upon placement in employment of a qualified graduate of the program; and

(2) an $11,000 retention grant paid to a job training program upon retention in employment of a qualified graduate of the program for at least one year.

Subd. 2.Qualified job training program.

To qualify for grants under this section, a job training program must satisfy the following requirements:

(1) the program must be operated by a nonprofit corporation that qualifies under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(2) the program must spend, on average, $15,000 or more per graduate of the program;

(3) the program must provide education and training in:

(i) basic skills, such as reading, writing, mathematics, and communications;

(ii) thinking skills, such as reasoning, creative thinking, decision making, and problem solving; and

(iii) personal qualities, such as responsibility, self-esteem, self-management, honesty, and integrity;

(4) the program may provide income supplements, when needed, to participants for housing, counseling, tuition, and other basic needs;

(5) individuals served by the program must be 18 years of age or older as of the date of enrollment, and have household income in the calendar year immediately before entering the program that is 100 percent or less of the federal poverty guideline for Minnesota, based on family size; and

(6) the program must be certified by the commissioner of employment and economic development as meeting the requirements of this subdivision.

Subd. 3.Graduation and retention grant requirements.

For purposes of a placement grant under this section, a qualified graduate is a graduate of a job training program qualifying under subdivision 2 who is placed in a job in Minnesota that pays at least $9 per hour or its equivalent plus health care benefits. To qualify for a retention grant under this section for a retention fee, a job in which the graduate is retained must pay at least $10 per hour or its equivalent plus health care benefits at the end of the first year of employment.

Subd. 4.Duties of program.

(a) A program certified by the commissioner under subdivision 2 must comply with the requirements of this subdivision.

(b) A program must maintain records for each qualified graduate. The records must include information sufficient to verify the graduate's eligibility under this section, identify the employer, and describe the job including its compensation rate and benefits.

(c) A program is subject to the reporting requirements under section 116L.98.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes