Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) It is unlawful in Minnesota for any firm, other than one organized pursuant to chapter 319B, to practice veterinary medicine, or to hold itself out or advertise itself in any way as being entitled to practice veterinary medicine, or to receive compensation derived from the practice of veterinary medicine or the performance of veterinary services by any person, whether that person is licensed to practice veterinary medicine or not. Any firm violating the provisions of this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and must be fined not more than $3,000 for each offense. Each day that this section is violated is a separate offense.

(b) Notwithstanding section 319B.08, a veterinary medical practice firm has 12 months after the death of an owner before all of the owner's ownership interest must be acquired by the practice, by persons permitted to own the ownership interest, or by some combination.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes