Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Applications.

The definitions in this section apply to sections 403.21 to 403.40.

Subd. 2.Board.

"Board" or "radio board" means the Statewide Radio Board.

Subd. 3.First phase.

"First phase" or "first phase of the regionwide public safety radio communication system" means the initial backbone which serves the following nine-county metropolitan area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties.

Subd. 4.Local elected officials.

"Local elected officials" means any elected official of a local government.

Subd. 5.Local government.

"Local government" means any county, home rule charter or statutory city, or town.

Subd. 6.NPSPAC channels.

"NPSPAC channels" or "National Public Safety Planning Advisory Committee channels" means the following 800 megahertz channels: 821 to 824 and 866 to 869 megahertz.

Subd. 7.Plan.

"Plan" or "regionwide public safety radio system communication plan" means a plan adopted by a regional radio board.

Subd. 8.Subsystems.

"Subsystems" or "public safety radio subsystems" means systems identified in the plan or a plan developed under section 403.36 as subsystems interconnected by the system backbone and operated by a regional radio board or local government units for their own internal operations.

Subd. 9.System backbone.

"System backbone" or "backbone" means a public safety radio communication system that consists of a shared, trunked, communication, and interoperability infrastructure network, including, but not limited to, radio towers and associated structures and equipment, the elements of which are identified in the regionwide public safety radio communication system plan and the statewide radio communication plan under section 403.36.

Subd. 10.Second phase.

"Second phase" means the enhancement of the phase one backbone by local government units building subsystems in the metropolitan area that did not build their own subsystems in the first phase.

Subd. 11.Third phase.

"Third phase" means an extension of the backbone system to serve the southeast and central districts of the State Patrol.

Subd. 12.Greater Minnesota.

"Greater Minnesota" means the area of the state outside the nine-county metropolitan area served by the first phase.

Subd. 13.Regional radio board.

"Regional radio board" or "regional board" means a regional radio board established under section 403.39.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes