Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Every health plan as defined in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, that provides maternity
benefits must, consistent with other coinsurance, co-payment, deductible, and related contract
terms, provide coverage of a minimum of 48 hours of inpatient care following a vaginal delivery
and a minimum of 96 hours of inpatient care following a caesarean section for a mother and her
newborn. The health plan shall not provide any compensation or other nonmedical remuneration
to encourage a mother and newborn to leave inpatient care before the duration minimums
specified in this section.
The health plan must also provide coverage for postdelivery care to a mother and her
newborn if the duration of inpatient care is less than the minimums provided in this section.
Postdelivery care consists of a minimum of one home visit by a registered nurse. Services
provided by the registered nurse include, but are not limited to, parent education, assistance and
training in breast and bottle feeding, and conducting any necessary and appropriate clinical tests.
The home visit must be conducted within four days following the discharge of the mother and
her child.
History: 1996 c 335 s 1

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes