Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Key: (1) language to be deleted (2) new language

KEY: stricken = old language to be removed
     underscored = new language to be added
                            CHAPTER 335-H.F.No. 2008 
                  An act relating to insurance; health; regulating 
                  childbirth and postpartum care benefits; proposing 
                  coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62A. 
           Section 1.  [62A.0411] [MATERNITY CARE.] 
           Every health plan as defined in section 62Q.01, subdivision 
        3, that provides maternity benefits must, consistent with other 
        coinsurance, copayment, deductible, and related contract terms, 
        provide coverage of a minimum of 48 hours of inpatient care 
        following a vaginal delivery and a minimum of 96 hours of 
        inpatient care following a caesarean section for a mother and 
        her newborn.  The health plan shall not provide any compensation 
        or other nonmedical remuneration to encourage a mother and 
        newborn to leave inpatient care before the duration minimums 
        specified in this section. 
           The health plan must also provide coverage for postdelivery 
        care to a mother and her newborn if the duration of inpatient 
        care is less than the minimums provided in this section. 
           Postdelivery care consists of a minimum of one home visit 
        by a registered nurse.  Services provided by the registered 
        nurse include, but are not limited to, parent education, 
        assistance and training in breast and bottle feeding, and 
        conducting any necessary and appropriate clinical tests.  The 
        home visit must be conducted within four days following the 
        discharge of the mother and her child. 
           Sec. 2.  [EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION.] 
           Section 1 is effective the day following final enactment 
        and applies to health plans issued or renewed to provide 
        coverage to a Minnesota resident on or after that date. 
           Presented to the governor March 18, 1996 
           Signed by the governor March 19, 1996, 3:40 p.m.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes