Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Detention. Before July 1, 1999, and pursuant to a request from an eight-day
temporary holdover facility, as defined in section 241.0221, the commissioner of corrections, or
the commissioner's designee, may grant a onetime extension per child to the eight-day limit on
detention under this chapter. This extension may allow such a facility to detain a child for up to 30
days including weekends and holidays. Upon the expiration of the extension, the child may not be
transferred to another eight-day temporary holdover facility. The commissioner shall develop
criteria for granting extensions under this section. These criteria must ensure that the child be
transferred to a long-term juvenile detention facility as soon as such a transfer is possible. Nothing
in this section changes the requirements in section 260B.178 regarding the necessity of detention
hearings to determine whether continued detention of the child is proper.
    Subd. 2. Continued detention. (a) A delay not to exceed 48 hours may be made if the
facility in which the child is detained is located where conditions of distance to be traveled or
other ground transportation do not allow for court appearances within 24 hours.
(b) A delay may be made if the facility is located where conditions of safety exist. Time for
an appearance may be delayed until 24 hours after the time that conditions allow for reasonably
safe travel. "Conditions of safety" include adverse life-threatening weather conditions that do
not allow for reasonably safe travel.
The continued detention of a child under paragraph (a) or (b) must be reported to the
commissioner of corrections.
History: 1999 c 139 art 2 s 27

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes