171.06 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE, PERMIT, IDENTIFICATION CARD; FEES.
Subdivision 1. Forms of application.
Every application for a Minnesota identification card,
for an instruction permit, for a provisional license, or for a driver's license must be made in a
format approved by the department, and every application must be accompanied by the proper
fee. All first-time applications and change-of-status applications must be signed in the presence of
the person authorized to accept the application, or the signature on the application may be verified
by a notary public. All applications requiring evidence of legal presence in the United States must
be signed in the presence of the person authorized to accept the application, or the signature on
the application may be verified by a notary public.
Subd. 2. Fees.
(a) The fees for a license and Minnesota identification card are as follows:
|Classified Driver's License
|Classified Under-21 D.L.
|Duplicate License or
duplicate identification card
card or Under-21 Minnesota
identification card, other
than duplicate, except
as otherwise provided in
3 and 3a
(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who holds a provisional license and has
a driving record free of (1) convictions for a violation of section
, (2) convictions for crash-related moving violations, and (3)
convictions for moving violations that are not crash related, shall have a $3.50 credit toward
the fee for any classified under-21 driver's license. "Moving violation" has the meaning given
it in section
171.04, subdivision 1
(c) In addition to the driver's license fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner
shall collect an additional $4 processing fee from each new applicant or individual renewing a
license with a school bus endorsement to cover the costs for processing an applicant's initial and
biennial physical examination certificate. The department shall not charge these applicants any
other fee to receive or renew the endorsement.
Subd. 2a. Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement fee.
(a) The fee for any duplicate driver's
license obtained for the purpose of adding a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement is increased by
$18.50 for each first such duplicate license and $13 for each renewal thereof. The additional fee
must be paid into the state treasury and credited as follows:
(1) $11 of the additional fee for each first duplicate license, and $7 of the additional fee
for each renewal, must be credited to the motorcycle safety fund, which is hereby created;
provided that ten percent of fee receipts in excess of $750,000 in a fiscal year must be credited
to the general fund.
(2) The remainder of the additional fee must be credited to the general fund.
(b) All application forms prepared by the commissioner for two-wheeled vehicle
endorsements must clearly state the amount of the total fee that is dedicated to the motorcycle
Subd. 2b.Never effective. See Laws 1991, c 291 art 19 s 11
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information.
(a) An application must:
(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and residence address of the applicant;
(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and any
other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the applicant's
ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or
(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a Minnesota
identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license, that the applicant
certifies that the applicant does not have a Social Security number;
(4) contain a space where the applicant may indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift
according to paragraph (b); and
(5) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section
171.07, subdivision 7
(b) If the applicant does not indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift when the application
is made, the applicant must be offered a donor document in accordance with section
. The application must contain statements sufficient to comply with the requirements
of the Uniform Anatomical Gift Act (1987), sections
, so that execution of
the application or donor document will make the anatomical gift as provided in section
, for those indicating a desire to make an anatomical gift. The application must
be accompanied by information describing Minnesota laws regarding anatomical gifts and the
need for and benefits of anatomical gifts, and the legal implications of making an anatomical
gift, including the law governing revocation of anatomical gifts. The commissioner shall
distribute a notice that must accompany all applications for and renewals of a driver's license
or Minnesota identification card. The notice must be prepared in conjunction with a Minnesota
organ procurement organization that is certified by the federal Department of Health and Human
Services and must include:
(1) a statement that provides a fair and reasonable description of the organ donation process,
the care of the donor body after death, and the importance of informing family members of
the donation decision; and
(2) a telephone number in a certified Minnesota organ procurement organization that may
be called with respect to questions regarding anatomical gifts.
(c) The application must be accompanied also by information containing relevant facts
(1) the effect of alcohol on driving ability;
(2) the effect of mixing alcohol with drugs;
(3) the laws of Minnesota relating to operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol or a controlled substance; and
(4) the levels of alcohol-related fatalities and accidents in Minnesota and of arrests for
Subd. 3a. Middle name.
For the purposes of subdivision 3, and section
, the full name of a married applicant may include, at the option of the applicant, the applicant's
family name prior to marriage instead of the applicant's given middle name, notwithstanding the
middle name specified on the applicant's marriage certificate.
Subd. 4.[Repealed, 1997 c 250 s 17
Subd. 5.[Repealed, 1979 c 150 s 2
Subd. 6. Compliance with selective service system registration requirements.
applying for an original, duplicate, or renewal instruction permit, provisional driver's license,
driver's license, commercial driver's license, or state identification card, an applicant under the age
of 26, who is a United States citizen or resident, consents to registration in compliance with the
requirements of the Military Selective Service Act, United States Code, title 50, appendix, section
453. The application form must state that submission of the application constitutes consent to
registration with the selective service system, if required by federal law.
(b) The commissioner shall forward to the selective service system in an electronic format
the necessary personal information required for registration of an applicant described in paragraph
(a). If the applicant is under the age of 18, and the license or card to be issued will expire after the
applicant's 18th birthday, then the commissioner shall forward the necessary information to the
selective service system when the applicant reaches the age of 18.
History: (2720-144c) 1939 c 401 s 6; 1949 c 689 s 1,2; 1955 c 798 s 1,2; 1957 c 564 s 2,3;
1959 c 634 s 1; 1965 c 36 s 1; 1971 c 129 s 1; 1971 c 625 s 2; 1971 c 644 s 8,9; 1971 c 659 s 1;
1973 c 59 s 1; 1973 c 698 s 1-3; 1978 c 628 s 1; 1981 c 363 s 31-35; 1982 c 583 s 1; 1985 c 291 s
20; 1986 c 330 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1987 c 358 s 111; 1987 c 383 s 14; 1988 c
715 s 2; 1989 c 301 s 6; 1989 c 307 s 20,21; 1990 c 509 s 1; 1990 c 510 s 1; 1990 c 529 s 8; 1990
c 573 s 21; 1991 c 202 s 13; 1991 c 233 s 60; 1991 c 291 art 19 s 1,11; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 23;
1993 c 166 s 1; 1993 c 266 s 21,22; 1994 c 501 s 3; 1994 c 536 s 22; 1994 c 632 art 1 s 5; 1995 c
265 art 2 s 19; 1996 c 275 s 5,6; 1997 c 13 s 1; 1997 c 60 s 1; 1997 c 159 art 2 s 32; 1997 c 250 s
9,18; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 2; 1998 c 388 s 14-16; 1999 c 86 art 1 s 83; 2000 c 478 art 2 s 7; 2000 c
489 art 6 s 32; 2002 c 349 s 1; 2002 c 371 art 1 s 55,56; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 10 s 3; 2004 c 192
s 1; 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 37; art 3 s 66; 2007 c 143 art 3 s 4