Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. False or misleading statements. Any person who willfully violates any
provision of sections 80A.01 to 80A.31 except section 80A.17, or any rule or order under sections
80A.01 to 80A.31, of which that person has notice, or who violates section 80A.17 knowing
that the statement was false or misleading in any material respect, may be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more than five years or both. Each of the acts specified shall constitute
a separate offense and a prosecution or conviction for any one of such offenses shall not bar
prosecution or conviction for any other offense.
    Subd. 2. Referral to attorney general. The commissioner may refer such evidence as is
available concerning violations of sections 80A.01 to 80A.31 or of any rule or order hereunder to
the attorney general or the county attorney of the appropriate county, who may, with or without any
such reference, institute the appropriate criminal proceedings under sections 80A.01 to 80A.31. If
referred to a county attorney, the county attorney shall within 90 days file with the commissioner
a statement concerning any action taken, or, if no action has been taken, the reasons therefor.
    Subd. 3. Other crimes. Nothing in sections 80A.01 to 80A.31 limits the power of the state to
punish any person for any conduct which constitutes a crime under any other statute.
History: 1973 c 451 s 22; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444
NOTE: This section is repealed by Laws 2006, chapter 196, article 1, section 51, effective
August 1, 2007. Laws 2006, chapter 196, article 1, section 52.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes