Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Imposition. A tax is imposed on distributors on the sale of cigarettes by a
cigarette distributor to a retailer or cigarette subjobber for resale in this state. The tax is equal
to 6.5 percent of the weighted average retail price. The weighted average retail price must
be expressed in cents per pack when rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a cent. The weighted
average retail price must be determined annually, with new rates published by May 1, and
effective for sales on or after August 1. The weighted average retail price must be established by
surveying cigarette retailers statewide in a manner and time determined by the commissioner. The
determination of the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision is not a "rule" and is not subject
to the Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14. As of August 1, 2005, the tax is
25.5 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. For packs of cigarettes with other than 20 cigarettes, the
tax must be adjusted proportionally.
    Subd. 2. Payment. Each taxpayer must remit payments of the taxes to the commissioner on
the same dates prescribed under section 297F.09, subdivision 1, for cigarette tax returns, including
the accelerated remittance of the June liability.
    Subd. 3. Return. A taxpayer must file a return with the commissioner on the same dates
prescribed under section 297F.09, subdivision 1, for cigarette tax returns. Notwithstanding any
other provisions of this chapter, the tax due on the return is based upon actual stamps purchased
during the reporting period.
    Subd. 4. Form of return. The return must contain the information and be in the form
prescribed by the commissioner.
    Subd. 5. Tax as debt. The tax that is required to be paid by the distributor is a debt from
the retailer or cigarette subjobber to the distributor recoverable at law in the same manner as
other debts. A cigarette retailer or subjobber must pay the tax imposed under subdivision 1 to
the distributor before the 12th day of the month following the month in which the cigarettes
were purchased from the distributor.
    Subd. 6. Sales tax stamp. Payment of the tax imposed under section 297F.05 and by this
section must be evidenced by a dual-purpose single stamp affixed to each package.
    Subd. 7. Administration. The stamping, audit, assessment, interest, penalty, appeal, refund,
and collection provisions applicable to the taxes imposed under this chapter apply to taxes
imposed under this section.
    Subd. 8. Deposit of revenues. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 297F.10, the
commissioner shall deposit all revenues, including penalties and interest, derived from the tax
imposed by this section, in the general fund.
History: 1Sp2005 c 3 art 6 s 15

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes