Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

297F.25 Cigarette sales tax.

Subdivision 1. Imposition. A tax is imposed on distributors on the sale of cigarettes by a cigarette distributor to a retailer or cigarette subjobber for resale in this state. The tax is equal to 6.5 percent of the weighted average retail price. The weighted average retail price must be expressed in cents per pack when rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a cent. The weighted average retail price must be determined annually, with new rates published by May 1, and effective for sales on or after August 1. The weighted average retail price must be established by surveying cigarette retailers statewide in a manner and time determined by the commissioner. The determination of the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision is not a "rule" and is not subject to the Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14. As of August 1, 2005, the tax is 25.5 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. For packs of cigarettes with other than 20 cigarettes, the tax must be adjusted proportionally.

Subd. 2. Payment. Each taxpayer must remit payments of the taxes to the commissioner on the same dates prescribed under section 297F.09, subdivision 1, for cigarette tax returns, including the accelerated remittance of the June liability.

Subd. 3. Return. A taxpayer must file a return with the commissioner on the same dates prescribed under section 297F.09, subdivision 1, for cigarette tax returns. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, the tax due on the return is based upon actual stamps purchased during the reporting period.

Subd. 4. Form of return. The return must contain the information and be in the form prescribed by the commissioner.

Subd. 5. Tax as debt. The tax that is required to be paid by the distributor is a debt from the retailer or cigarette subjobber to the distributor recoverable at law in the same manner as other debts. A cigarette retailer or subjobber must pay the tax imposed under subdivision 1 to the distributor before the 12th day of the month following the month in which the cigarettes were purchased from the distributor.

Subd. 6. Sales tax stamp. Payment of the tax imposed under section 297F.05 and by this section must be evidenced by a dual-purpose single stamp affixed to each package.

Subd. 7. Administration. The stamping, audit, assessment, interest, penalty, appeal, refund, and collection provisions applicable to the taxes imposed under this chapter apply to taxes imposed under this section.

Subd. 8. Deposit of revenues. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 297F.10, the commissioner shall deposit all revenues, including penalties and interest, derived from the tax imposed by this section, in the general fund.

HIST: 1Sp2005 c 3 art 6 s 15

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes