Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

171.29 Revoked license; examination for new license.

Subdivision 1. Examination required. No person whose driver's license has been revoked by reason of conviction, plea of guilty, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, under section 169.791, 169.797, or 171.17, or revoked under section 169.792 or 169A.52 shall be issued another license unless and until that person shall have successfully passed an examination as required by the commissioner of public safety. This subdivision does not apply to an applicant for early reinstatement under section 169.792, subdivision 7a.

Subd. 2. Fees, allocation. (a) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1, except under section 169A.52 or 169A.54, shall pay a $30 fee before the driver's license is reinstated.

(b) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under section 169A.52 or 169A.54 shall pay a $250 fee plus a $40 surcharge before the driver's license is reinstated. The $250 fee is to be credited as follows:

(1) Twenty percent must be credited to the trunk highway fund.

(2) Fifty-five percent must be credited to the general fund.

(3) Eight percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the bureau of criminal apprehension account. Money in this account may be appropriated to the commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount must be apportioned 80 percent for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section 299C.065.

(4) Twelve percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the alcohol-impaired driver education account. Money in the account is appropriated as follows:

(i) the first $200,000 in a fiscal year to the commissioner of children, families, and learning for programs for elementary and secondary school students; and

(ii) the remainder credited in a fiscal year to the commissioner of transportation to be spent as grants to the Minnesota highway safety center at St. Cloud State University for programs relating to alcohol and highway safety education in elementary and secondary schools.

(5) Five percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to be used as follows: 35 percent for a contract with a qualified community-based organization to provide information, resources, and support to assist persons with traumatic brain injury and their families to access services, and 65 percent to maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury registry created in section 144.662. For the purposes of this clause, a "qualified community-based organization" is a private, not-for-profit organization of consumers of traumatic brain injury services and their family members. The organization must be registered with the United States Internal Revenue Service under section 501(c)(3) as a tax-exempt organization and must have as its purposes:

(i) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the incidence and consequences of traumatic brain injury;

(ii) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury, their families, and friends;

(iii) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic brain injury;

(iv) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury; and

(v) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation in its governance.

No patient's name, identifying information or identifiable medical data will be disclosed to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient or patient's guardian, or if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.

(c) The $40 surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be known as the remote electronic alcohol monitoring program account. The commissioner shall transfer the balance of this account to the commissioner of finance on a monthly basis for deposit in the general fund.

(d) When these fees are collected by a licensing agent, appointed under section 171.061, a handling charge is imposed in the amount specified under section 171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fees and surcharge must be deposited in an approved state depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

Subd. 3. Compliance with impoundment laws. A person whose license has been revoked under section 169A.52 or 169A.54 may not be issued another license at the end of the revocation period unless the person has complied with all applicable registration plate impoundment provisions of sections 168.041 and 169A.60.

HIST: 1959 c 515 s 1,2; 1981 c 363 s 40; 1983 c 293 s 71; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 23; 1986 c 330 s 3; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 398 art 7 s 38; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 15; 1988 c 681 s 5; 1988 c 684 art 1 s 19; 1989 c 329 art 8 s 10; 1991 c 265 art 8 s 12; 1991 c 292 art 8 s 3; 1991 c 301 s 9; 1991 c 333 s 30; 1992 c 571 art 14 s 11; 1993 c 224 art 11 s 6; 1994 c 398 s 1; 1994 c 483 s 1; 1994 c 501 s 9; 1995 c 226 art 5 s 2; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 159 art 2 s 35; 1997 c 239 art 8 s 2; 1998 c 367 art 11 s 7; 1998 c 405 s 8; 1998 c 407 art 4 s 1; 1999 c 205 art 3 s 4; 2000 c 426 s 29; 2000 c 478 art 2 s 7