MN Legislature


Revisor of Statutes Menu


1998 Minnesota Statutes

This is an historical version of this statute chapter. Also view the most recent published version.

611A.25 Sexual assault advisory council.

Subdivision 1. Creation. The commissioner of corrections shall appoint a 12-member advisory council on sexual assault to advise the commissioner on the implementation and continued operation of sections 611A.21 and 611A.221. The sexual assault advisory council shall also serve as a liaison between the commissioner and organizations that provide services to victims of sexual assault, and as an advocate within the department of corrections for the rights of sexual assault victims.

Subd. 2. Membership. No more than six of the members of the sexual assault advisory council may be representatives of community or governmental organizations that provide services to sexual assault victims. One-half of the council's members shall reside in the metropolitan area, composed of Hennepin, Ramsey, Anoka, Dakota, Scott, Washington, and Carver counties, and one-half of the members shall reside in the nonmetropolitan area. To the extent possible, nonmetropolitan members must be representative of all nonmetropolitan regions of the state.

Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies; expenses. Section 15.059 governs the filling of vacancies and removal of members of the sexual assault advisory council. The terms of the members of the advisory council shall be two years. No member may serve on the advisory council for more than two consecutive terms. The council expires on June 30, 2001. Council members shall receive expense reimbursement as specified in section 15.059.

Subd. 4. Repealed, 1991 c 272 s 20

HIST: 1991 c 272 s 7; 1996 c 408 art 7 s 9; 1997 c 239 art 7 s 26; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 104

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569