Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

256J.65 The self-employment investment demonstration program (SEID).

(a) A caregiver who enrolls and participates in the SEID program as specified in section 268.95, may, at county option, be exempted from other employment and training participation requirements for a period of up to 24 months, except for the school attendance requirements as specified in section 256J.54.

(b) The following income and resource considerations apply to SEID participants:

(1) an unencumbered cash reserve fund, composed of proceeds from a SEID business, is not counted against the grant if those funds are reinvested in the business and the value of the business does not exceed $3,000. The value of the business is determined by deducting outstanding encumbrances from retained business profit; and

(2) the purchase of capital equipment and durable goods of an amount up to $3,000 during a 24-month project period is allowed as a business expense.

(c) SEID participants with a county-approved employment plan are also eligible for employment and training services, including child care and transportation.

HIST: 1997 c 85 art 1 s 52

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes