Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.


The respective commissioner shall prepare the examinations to be used in determining the knowledge, ability, and skills of operators.

Subp. 2.


Separate examinations must be prepared for each designated system and facility class to cover basic differences in the duties and responsibilities of operators, types of water and wastewater treatment, variations in water and wastewater characteristics, water distribution systems, and wastewater collection systems. The examination must test the applicant's knowledge in any one or more of the following areas, as they relate to either water or wastewater treatment: basic science, mathematics, operating procedures, treatment processes, equipment, equipment maintenance, management, and state law and rules relating to water and wastewater. The applicant is prohibited from using any resource materials during an examination.

Subp. 3.

[Repealed, 21 SR 1165]

Subp. 4.

[Repealed, 21 SR 1165]

Subp. 5.


A grade of 70 percent is considered a passing grade.

Subp. 6.

Results; review.

The respective commissioner shall notify the applicant of the exam results. Examinations will not be returned to the applicant, but upon request within 60 days' notification of the results, the applicant may be allowed to review the examination.

Subp. 7.


An applicant who fails to pass the examination may not retake the same examination for a period of three months.

Subp. 8.

Certificate fee.

The applicant must submit the certification fee within 90 days after written notification of positive results of the examination. If an applicant fails to submit the certification fee within 90 days, the applicant must apply for reexamination as in part 9400.0900.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 115.72; 115.79


21 SR 1165; 25 SR 1633

Published Electronically:

October 2, 2007

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes