Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Scope of coverage.

This section applies to all policies of accident and health insurance, group subscriber contracts offered by nonprofit health service plan corporations regulated under chapter 62C, health maintenance contracts regulated under chapter 62D, and health benefit certificates offered through a fraternal benefit society regulated under chapter 64B. This section does not apply to policies designed primarily to provide coverage payable on a per diem, fixed indemnity or nonexpense incurred basis, or policies that provide only accident coverage.

Subd. 2.Required coverage.

If a policy, plan, certificate, or contract referred to in subdivision 1 issued or renewed after August 1, 1988, provides coverage for services provided by a home care nurse or personal care assistant to a ventilator-dependent person in the person's home, it must provide coverage for up to 120 hours of services provided by a home care nurse or personal care assistant to the ventilator-dependent person during the time the ventilator-dependent person is in a hospital licensed under chapter 144. The personal care assistant or home care nurse shall perform only the services of communicator or interpreter for the ventilator-dependent patient during a transition period of up to 120 hours to assure adequate training of the hospital staff to communicate with the patient and to understand the unique comfort, safety, and personal care needs of the patient.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes