Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Juror protection.

An employer shall not deprive an employee of employment, or threaten or otherwise coerce the employee with respect thereto, because the employee receives a summons, responds thereto, serves as a juror, or attends court for prospective jury service.

Subd. 2.Criminal contempt.

An employer who violates subdivision 1 is guilty of criminal contempt and upon conviction may be fined not more than $700 or imprisoned not more than six months, or both.

Subd. 3.Civil action.

If an employer discharges an employee in violation of subdivision 1 the employee within 30 days may bring a civil action for recovery of wages lost as a result of the violation and for an order requiring the reinstatement of the employee. Damages recoverable shall not exceed lost wages for six weeks. An employee who prevails shall be allowed a reasonable attorney's fee fixed by the court.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes