Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Justices; terms.

The supreme court shall consist of one chief justice and six associate justices, who shall hold one term of court each year, at the seat of government, commencing on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January, with such continuations or adjournments thereof during the year as may be necessary for the dispatch of the business coming before the court. When the chief justice of the court shall be absent from the state, or shall be, for any reason, incapacitated from acting as such, the associate justice present within the state and not incapacitated who shall have served the longest time, or when there are two or more associate justices of equal terms of service, then the associate justice, whom the chief justice shall designate as senior associate justice as such, shall have and exercise all the powers, duties, and functions of the chief justice during the absence or incapacity and shall be, during such absence or incapacity, the presiding justice of the court.

Subd. 2.Travel expenses.

Travel expenses shall be paid by the state in the same manner and amount as provided for judges of the district court in section 484.54.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes