Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Applicability.

This section applies to any agreement entered into after December 31, 1992, for the financing or refinancing of a purchase of a manufactured home. As used in this section and section 277.17, "lender" includes a state bank and trust company, national banking association, state or federally chartered savings association, mortgage bank, savings bank, insurance company, credit union, or a dealer as defined in section 327B.01, subdivision 7, that enters into an agreement for financing or refinancing a purchase of a manufactured home.

Subd. 2.Condition of financing agreement.

Each agreement must contain a statement that it is a condition of the agreement that the borrower must agree to pay all taxes on the manufactured home when due.

Subd. 3.Collection of delinquent taxes.

Within 30 days of receipt of a notice of delinquency from a county under section 277.17, the lender must notify the mortgagor that the tax must be paid in full no later than 60 days from the date of issuance of the notice. The notice must inform the mortgagor that if the tax is not paid by that date, the lender may pay the delinquent tax, together with any penalty and interest then due, in full to the county. The notice may inform the mortgagor of the lender's option to begin foreclosure proceedings. The county may only request payment and collection of taxes that have been delinquent for no longer than one year under this section. The county must notify the lender if the owner of the manufactured home pays the delinquent taxes at any time during the 60 days after the notice has been issued.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes