Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


If any person conducting a business contrary to the terms of sections 333.001 to 333.06 shall, prior to the filing of the certificate therein prescribed, commence a civil action, including an action to recover possession of real property in any court of this state on account of any contract made by, or transaction had on behalf of the business, the defendant may plead such failure in abatement of the action; and all proceedings had in the action shall thereupon be stayed until the certificate provided for by sections 333.001 to 333.06 is duly filed, and if the defendant prevails in the action, the defendant shall also be entitled to tax $250 costs, in addition to such other statutory costs as may be allowed by law, and, if the defendant does not prevail in the action, the defendant shall be entitled to deduct $250 from the judgment otherwise recoverable therein and if a judgment for money is not otherwise recoverable therein, the defendant shall be entitled to tax $250 costs. If such a person defends against a civil action, the plaintiff shall be entitled to tax $250 costs, regardless of which party prevails upon the merits.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes