Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

154.47 SALONS.

Subdivision 1.Licensing.

Any person who offers cosmetology services for compensation in this state shall be licensed as a salon if not employed by another licensed salon or as an esthetician in connection with medical care in relation to esthiology in the office of a licensed physician.

Subd. 2.Requirements.

(a) The conditions and process by which a salon is licensed shall be established by the board by rule. In addition to those requirements, no license shall be issued unless the board first determines that the conditions in clauses (1) to (5) have been satisfied:

(1) compliance with all local and state laws, particularly relating to matters of sanitation, health, and safety;

(2) the employment of a manager, as defined in section 154.42, subdivision 8;

(3) inspection and licensing prior to the commencing of business;

(4) if applicable, evidence of compliance with section 176.182; and

(5) evidence of continued professional liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for each claim and $50,000 total coverage for each policy year for each operator.

(b) A licensed esthetician or manicurist who complies with the health, safety, sanitation, inspection, and insurance rules promulgated by the board to operate a salon solely for the performance of those personal services defined in section 154.42, subdivision 5, in the case of an esthetician, or subdivision 7, in the case of a manicurist.

Subd. 3.Health and sanitary standards.

Minimum health and sanitary standards for the operation of a salon shall be established by rule. A salon shall not be located in a room used for residential purposes. If a salon is in the residence of a person practicing cosmetology, the rooms used for the practice of cosmetology shall be completely partitioned off from the living quarters. The salon may be inspected as often as the board considers necessary to affirm compliance.

Subd. 4.Renewal.

Licenses shall be renewed every three years by a process established by rule.

Subd. 5.Fees.

The licensing and inspection fees are as specified in section 154.44.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes