Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Termination; hearing.

Before a district terminates the coaching duties of an employee who is required to hold a license as an athletic coach from the commissioner of education, the district must notify the employee in writing and state its reason for the proposed termination. Within 14 days of receiving this notification, the employee may request in writing a hearing on the termination before the board. If a hearing is requested, the board must hold a hearing within 25 days according to the hearing procedures specified in section 122A.40, subdivision 14, and the termination is final upon the order of the board after the hearing.

Subd. 2.Final decision.

Within ten days after the hearing, the board must issue a written decision regarding the termination. If the board decides to terminate the employee's coaching duties, the decision must state the reason on which it is based and include findings of fact based upon competent evidence in the record. The board may terminate the employee's duties or not, as it sees fit, for any reason which is found to be true based on substantial and competent evidence in the record.

Subd. 3.Nonapplication of section.

This section shall not apply to the termination of coaching duties pursuant to a district transfer policy or as a result of the nonrenewal or termination of the employee's contract or the employee's discharge, demotion or suspension pursuant to section 122A.40 or 122A.41. This section shall not apply to the termination of an employee's coaching duties before completing the probationary period of employment.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes