Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

72A.061 MANDATORY FILINGS; FAILURE TO COMPLY; PENALTIES.
    Subdivision 1. Annual statements. Any insurance company licensed to do business in this
state, including fraternals, reciprocals and township mutuals, which neglects to file its annual
statement in the form prescribed and within the time specified by law shall be subject to a penalty
of $100 for each day in default. If, at the end of 45 days, the default has not been corrected, the
company shall be given ten days in which to show cause to the commissioner why its license
should not be suspended. If the company has not made the requisite showing within the ten-day
period, the license and authority of the company may, at the discretion of the commissioner, be
suspended during the time the company is in default.
Any insurance company, including fraternals, reciprocals, and township mutuals, willfully
making a false annual or other required statement shall pay a penalty to the state not to exceed
$5,000. Either or both of the monetary penalties imposed by this subdivision may be recovered in
a civil action brought by and in the name of the state.
    Subd. 2. Articles of incorporation; bylaws. Any insurance company licensed to do business
in this state, including fraternals and township mutuals, which neglects to file amended bylaws
or related amendments within 30 days after date of approval shall be subject to a penalty of
$25 for each day in default.
Any insurance company licensed to do business in this state, including fraternals and
township mutuals, which neglects to file amended articles of incorporation or related amendments
within 30 days after date of approval shall be subject to a penalty of $25 for each day in default,
provided that foreign insurers shall be allowed 60 days in which to file.
If after 90 days the filings required under this subdivision are still in default, the company
shall be given ten days in which to show cause why its license should not be suspended.
    Subd. 3. Other filings. Any insurance company licensed to do business in this state,
including fraternals, reciprocals, and township mutuals, which neglects to comply with any other
mandatory filing in the form prescribed and within the time specified by law or as specified
on the document shall be subject to a penalty of $25 for each day in default. If after 90 days a
default has not been corrected, the company shall be given ten days in which to show cause why
its license should not be suspended.
    Subd. 4. Suspension, discretionary powers. Any company which writes new business in
this state, including fraternals, reciprocals and township mutuals, while its license is suspended
and after it has been notified by the commissioner by a notice mailed to the home office of the
company that its license has been suspended shall pay to the state the sum of $25 for each contract
of insurance entered into by it after being notified of its license suspension. The notification
shall be mailed by registered letter and deemed to have been received by the company at its
home office in the usual course of the mails.
    Subd. 5. Extensions. The commissioner may grant an extension of any filing deadline or
requirement specified by this section, on receiving, not less than ten days before the date of
default, satisfactory evidence of imminent hardship to the company.
    Subd. 6. Penalties; deposit to general fund. All penalties recovered pursuant to this section
shall be paid into the general fund.
History: 1977 c 316 s 1; 1984 c 592 s 71; 1986 c 444; 1991 c 325 art 10 s 10

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569