Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2011 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.597 ASSAULTING OR HARMING POLICE HORSE; PENALTIES.

Subdivision 1.Definition.

As used in this section, "police horse" means a horse that has been trained for crowd control and other law enforcement purposes and is used to assist peace officers or reserve officers in the performance of their official duties.

Subd. 2.Crime.

Whoever assaults or intentionally harms a police horse while the horse is being used or maintained for use by a law enforcement agency, or while under the control of a reserve officer who is operating at the direction of, under the control of, or on behalf of a peace officer or a law enforcement agency, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3.

Subd. 3.Penalties.

A person convicted of violating subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows:

(1) if a peace officer, a reserve officer, or any other person suffers great bodily harm or death as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both;

(2) if the police horse suffers death or great bodily harm as a result of the violation, or if a peace officer or a reserve officer suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both;

(3) if the police horse suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year and one day or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both;

(4) if a peace officer or a reserve officer is involuntarily unseated from the police horse or any person, other than the peace officer or reserve officer, suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both;

(5) if a violation other than one described in clauses (1) to (4) occurs, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569