Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

604.14 CIVIL LIABILITY FOR THEFT.
    Subdivision 1. Liability for theft of property. A person who steals personal property
from another is civilly liable to the owner of the property for its value when stolen plus punitive
damages of either $50 or up to 100 percent of its value when stolen, whichever is greater. If the
property is merchandise stolen from a retail store, its value is the retail price of the merchandise in
the store when the theft occurred.
    Subd. 2. Notice. In order to recover under subdivision 1 for the theft of a shopping cart, a
store must have posted at the time of the theft a conspicuous notice describing the liability under
subdivision 1.
    Subd. 3. Liability of parent or guardian. Section 540.18 applies to this section, except that
recovery is not limited to special damages.
    Subd. 4. Criminal action. The filing of a criminal complaint, conviction, or guilty plea is
not a prerequisite to liability under this section. Payment or nonpayment may not be used as
evidence in a criminal action.
    Subd. 5. Recovery of property. The recovery of stolen property by a person does not affect
liability under this section, other than liability for the value of the property.
    Subd. 6. Right to demand payment. A person may make a written demand for payment for
the liability imposed by this section before beginning an action, including a copy of this section
and a description of the liability contained in this section.
History: 1988 c 481 s 1; 1989 c 224 s 2; 1989 c 262 s 4

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569