Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

Resources

Topics

Recent History

357.021 COURT ADMINISTRATOR OF DISTRICT COURT; FEES.
    Subdivision 1.[Expired]
    Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of finance. (a) Every person, including the
state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall transact any business in the
district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court the sundry fees prescribed in
subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court administrator shall transmit the fees
monthly to the commissioner of finance for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general
fund. $30 of each fee collected in a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be
deposited by the commissioner of finance in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the
commissioner of employment and economic development for the displaced homemaker program
under section 116L.96.
(b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant to this
subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the fees first to
reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector position. The
balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of finance for deposit
in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. In a county in a judicial district under
section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which has a screener-collector position, the fees
paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to the commissioner of finance for deposit in the
state treasury and credited to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this
paragraph is an employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the
incomes of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.
(c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public
authority represents in an action for:
(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or
establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;
(2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;
(3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under
chapters 252A and 525;
(4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery of
overpayments of public assistance;
(5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;
(6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317;
(7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under sections
246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37, 260B.331, and
260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;
(8) restitution under section 611A.04; or
(9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,
subdivision 5
.
(d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2, clause
(13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general fund and $35
from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be used by the county to
pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.
    Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator
shall be as follows:
(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under the tax
laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff, petitioner, or
other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of
$240, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $270.
The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several defendants
or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others, shall pay, when the
first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $240, except in marriage dissolution
actions the fee is $270.
The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $75.
The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of
whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and shall
include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified copies of any
papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions therein as to appeals.
(2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $10, and $5 for
an uncertified copy.
(3) Issuing a subpoena, $12 for each name.
(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and
guardianship cases, $55.
(5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment, injunction,
habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically mentioned, $40.
(6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment
from another court, $30.
(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of
judgment, $5.
(8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name
certified to.
(9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording
certificate of physicians, osteopaths, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists, $5.
(10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $40.
(11) For the deposit of a will, $20.
(12) For recording notary commission, $100, of which, notwithstanding subdivision 1a,
paragraph (b), $80 must be forwarded to the commissioner of finance to be deposited in the
state treasury and credited to the general fund.
(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of $55.
(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares
favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.
(15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of $75
must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption petition
filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.
The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the public
authority represents.
    Subd. 2a.[Repealed, 1999 c 216 art 7 s 45]
    Subd. 3. Payment in advance. All fees of said court administrators, except in criminal
proceedings, shall be paid in advance at or prior to the time of the performance of any service
requiring payment of such fees, and said court administrator shall not proceed in any matter
requiring the payment of fees until the full amount of the same is paid.
    Subd. 4. Not affect library fees. Nothing in this section shall be construed as amending,
modifying, redistributing, or repealing the provisions as to library fees contained in chapter 134A.
    Subd. 5. Exemption for government agencies. Notwithstanding any other provision of the
law to the contrary, no fee otherwise required to be paid to the court administrator of district
court by a defendant or defendants when filing the first paper for that party in an action, shall
be paid by the state of Minnesota, or any department or agency thereof, or when the state or a
department or agency as plaintiff enters judgment pursuant to a confession of judgment executed
by the defendant.
    Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this
paragraph, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a $72 surcharge on
every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor
offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle parking, for which there
shall be a $4 surcharge. In the Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court
administrator shall collect, an additional $1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony,
gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or
ordinance relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes
the $1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to
imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person is
convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.
(b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court
administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct the
record.
(c) The court may not waive payment of the surcharge required under this subdivision. Upon
a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted person or the convicted person's
immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize payment of the surcharge in installments.
(d) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to the
commissioner of finance.
(e) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge
before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional facility
in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any earnings the
inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional release. The chief
executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the commissioner of finance.
    Subd. 7. Disbursement of surcharges by commissioner of finance. (a) Except as provided
in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the commissioner of finance shall disburse surcharges received
under subdivision 6 and section 97A.065, subdivision 2, as follows:
(1) one percent shall be credited to the game and fish fund to provide peace officer training
for employees of the Department of Natural Resources who are licensed under sections 626.84 to
626.863, and who possess peace officer authority for the purpose of enforcing game and fish laws;
(2) 39 percent shall be credited to the peace officers training account in the special revenue
fund; and
(3) 60 percent shall be credited to the general fund.
(b) The commissioner of finance shall credit $3 of each surcharge received under subdivision
6 and section 97A.065, subdivision 2, to the general fund.
(c) In addition to any amounts credited under paragraph (a), the commissioner of finance
shall credit $44 of each surcharge received under subdivision 6 and section 97A.065, subdivision
2
, and the $4 parking surcharge, to the general fund.
(d) If the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes imposition of the additional
$1 surcharge provided for in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), the court administrator in the Second
Judicial District shall transmit the surcharge to the commissioner of finance. The $1 special
surcharge is deposited in a Ramsey County surcharge account in the special revenue fund and
amounts in the account are appropriated to the trial courts for the administration of the petty
misdemeanor diversion program operated by the Second Judicial District Ramsey County
Violations Bureau.
History: (6987) RL s 2694; 1913 c 414 s 1; 1937 c 187 s 1; 1947 c 95 s 1,2; 1957 c 620 s
1,2; 1959 c 250 s 4; 1965 c 822 s 1-5; 1969 c 495 s 1,3; 1971 c 25 s 65; 1971 c 255 s 1; 1971 c
259 s 1; 1974 c 394 s 2; 1978 c 730 s 1; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 41,42; 1983 c 262 art 1 s 6; 1983 c
312 art 3 s 1,2; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 53; 1985 c 172 s 127; 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 75; 1986 c 442 s 2;
1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 185,186; 1989 c 335 art 3 s 6-9; art 4 s 82;
1Sp1989 c 1 art 17 s 5; 1990 c 391 art 8 s 38; 1990 c 544 s 1; 1990 c 574 s 4; 1990 c 594 art 1 s
72; 1990 c 604 art 9 s 3; 1991 c 281 s 1; 1992 c 513 art 3 s 71; art 4 s 42; art 8 s 51,52; 1992 c
571 art 4 s 1; 1993 c 192 s 91,92; 1993 c 326 art 12 s 7; 1994 c 465 art 3 s 28; 1994 c 630 art 10
s 2; 1994 c 636 art 8 s 3; 1995 c 226 art 6 s 8; 1997 c 218 s 12; 1997 c 239 art 12 s 1; 1998 c 366
s 75; 1998 c 367 art 8 s 4-6; 1998 c 382 art 2 s 17; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 196 art 2 s 7;
1999 c 243 art 11 s 5; 2000 c 478 art 2 s 7; 1Sp2001 c 5 art 5 s 10; 1Sp2001 c 8 art 7 s 1,2,13;
1Sp2001 c 9 art 18 s 15,16,19; 2002 c 220 art 11 s 6; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113,114; 2003 c 112 art 2
s 50; 1Sp2003 c 2 art 2 s 2; art 8 s 6,7; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 64; 2004 c 278 s 2,3; 2005 c 136 art 14
s 3-5; 2005 c 164 s 1,2; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 4 s 99,100; 2006 c 212 art 3 s 37

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569