Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

246.54 LIABILITY OF COUNTY; REIMBURSEMENT.
    Subdivision 1. County portion for cost of care. Except for chemical dependency services
provided under sections 254B.01 to 254B.09, the client's county shall pay to the state of
Minnesota a portion of the cost of care provided in a regional treatment center or a state nursing
facility to a client legally settled in that county. A county's payment shall be made from the
county's own sources of revenue and payments shall be paid as follows: payments to the state
from the county shall equal 20 percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for
each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at a regional treatment center or a state
nursing facility. If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 80
percent of the cost of care, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining
amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or
from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53. No such payments shall be made
for any client who was last committed prior to July 1, 1947.
    Subd. 2. Exceptions. Subdivision 1 does not apply to services provided at the Minnesota
Security Hospital, the Minnesota sex offender program, or the Minnesota extended treatment
options program. For services at these facilities, a county's payment shall be made from the
county's own sources of revenue and payments shall be paid as follows: payments to the state
from the county shall equal ten percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner,
for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at the facility. If payments received by
the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 90 percent of the cost of care, the county shall
be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled
to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as
provided in section 246.53.
History: 1959 c 578 s 5; 1971 c 637 s 6; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 17; 1985 c 21 s 18; 1986 c 394 s
6; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 91,218; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 4

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569