Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

246.54 Liability of county; reimbursement.

Subdivision 1. County portion for cost of care. Except for chemical dependency services provided under sections 254B.01 to 254B.09, the client's county shall pay to the state of Minnesota a portion of the cost of care provided in a regional treatment center or a state nursing facility to a client legally settled in that county. A county's payment shall be made from the county's own sources of revenue and payments shall be paid as follows: payments to the state from the county shall equal 20 percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at a regional treatment center or a state nursing facility. If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 80 percent of the cost of care, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53. No such payments shall be made for any client who was last committed prior to July 1, 1947.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. Subdivision 1 does not apply to services provided at the Minnesota Security Hospital, the Minnesota sex offender program, or the Minnesota extended treatment options program. For services at these facilities, a county's payment shall be made from the county's own sources of revenue and payments shall be paid as follows: payments to the state from the county shall equal ten percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at the facility. If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 90 percent of the cost of care, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53.

HIST: 1959 c 578 s 5; 1971 c 637 s 6; 1981 c 360 art 2 s 17; 1985 c 21 s 18; 1986 c 394 s 6; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 91,218; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 3 s 4

* NOTE: The amendment to this section by Laws 2003, First *Special Session chapter 14, article 3, section 4, is effective *July 1, 2004. Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 14, *article 3, section 4, the effective date.