Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

181A.04 MINIMUM AGE AND MAXIMUM HOURS.

Subdivision 1.Minimum age.

No minors under the age of 14 shall be permitted employment in this state except as authorized by section 181A.07.

Subd. 2.During school.

On school days, during school hours, no minor under the age of 16 years shall be permitted employment except as provided in section 181A.05.

Subd. 3.Time of day, under 16.

No minor under the age of 16 shall be permitted to work any day before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m.

Subd. 4.Maximum hours.

No employer shall be permitted to work a minor under the age of 16 more than 40 hours a week or more than eight hours in any 24-hour period.

Subd. 5.Hazardous occupations.

No minor under the age of 18 shall be permitted to work in any occupation which the commissioner shall find to be particularly hazardous for the employment of children under 18 years of age or detrimental to their well-being. A list of such occupations shall be established and promulgated by rule pursuant to section 181A.09. Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, this subdivision does not apply to minors employed in retail stores that are nonseasonal and are of a nontransient nature and which sell or offer for sale explosives or pyrotechnics.

Subd. 6.Time of day, under 18.

A high school student under the age of 18 must not be permitted to work after 11:00 p.m. on an evening before a school day or before 5:00 a.m. on a school day, except as permitted by section 181A.07, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4. If a high school student under the age of 18 has supplied the employer with a note signed by the parent or guardian of the student, the student may be permitted to work until 11:30 p.m. on the evening before a school day and beginning at 4:30 a.m. on a school day.

For the purpose of this subdivision, a high school student does not include a student enrolled in an alternative education program approved by the commissioner of education or an area learning center, including area learning centers under sections 123A.05 to 123A.08 or according to section 122A.163.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569