Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2010 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

148.5194 FEES.

Subdivision 1.Fee proration.

The commissioner shall prorate the licensure fee for clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, temporary, and first time licensees according to the number of months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued and the date the license expires or must be renewed under section 148.5191, subdivision 4.

Subd. 2.Speech-language pathologist biennial licensure fee.

The fee for initial licensure and biennial licensure, clinical fellowship licensure, temporary licensure, or renewal for a speech-language pathologist is $200.

Subd. 3.Biennial licensure fee for dual licensure as a speech-language pathologist and audiologist.

The fee for initial licensure and biennial licensure, clinical fellowship licensure, doctoral externship, temporary license, or renewal is $435.

Subd. 3a.

[Repealed, 1Sp2003 c 14 art 7 s 89]

Subd. 4.Penalty fee for late renewals.

The penalty fee for late submission of a renewal application is $45.

Subd. 5.Nonrefundable fees.

All fees are nonrefundable.

Subd. 6.Verification of credential.

The fee for written verification of credentialed status is $25.

Subd. 7.Audiologist biennial licensure fee.

(a) The biennial licensure fee for audiologists for clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, temporary, initial applicants, and renewal licensees is $435.

(b) The audiologist fee is for practical examination costs greater than audiologist exam fee receipts and for complaint investigation, enforcement action, and consumer information and assistance expenditures related to hearing instrument dispensing.

Subd. 8.Penalty fees.

(a) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or audiology or using protected titles without a current license after the credential has expired and before it is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months.

(b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the unauthorized practice of speech-language pathology or audiology or using protected titles before being issued a license is the amount of the license application fee for any part of the first month, plus the license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice of speech language pathology or audiology.

(c) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or audiology and failing to submit a continuing education report by the due date with the correct number or type of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each missing clock hour. "Missing" means not obtained between the effective and expiration dates of the certificate, the one-month period following the certificate expiration date, or the 30 days following notice of a penalty fee for failing to report all continuing education hours. The licensee must obtain the missing number of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date.

(d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably justified by the individual case.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569