Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

144E.27 FIRST RESPONDER REGISTRATION.
    Subdivision 1. Training programs. Curriculum for initial and refresher training programs
must meet the current standards of the United States Department of Transportation first responder
curriculum or its equivalent as determined by the board. A training program instructor must be a
first responder, EMT, EMT-I, EMT-P, physician, physician assistant, or registered nurse.
    Subd. 2. Registration. To be eligible for registration with the board as a first responder, an
individual shall complete a board-approved application form and:
(1) successfully complete a board-approved initial first responder training program.
Registration under this clause is valid for two years and expires at the end of the month in which
the registration was issued; or
(2) be credentialed as a first responder by the National Registry of Emergency Medical
Technicians. Registration under this clause expires the same day as the National Registry
credential.
    Subd. 3. Renewal. (a) The board may renew the registration of a first responder who:
(1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and
(2) submits a completed renewal application to the board before the registration expiration
date.
(b) The board may renew the lapsed registration of a first responder who:
(1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and
(2) submits a completed renewal application to the board within 12 months after the
registration expiration date.
    Subd. 4.[Repealed, 2004 c 144 s 9]
    Subd. 5. Denial, suspension, revocation. (a) The board may deny, suspend, revoke, place
conditions on, or refuse to renew the registration of an individual who the board determines:
(1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections;
(2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for registration;
(3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor
relating to assault, sexual misconduct, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any misdemeanor
relating to sexual misconduct or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol;
(4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services with reasonable
skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other
material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;
(5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive,
defraud, or harm the public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health,
welfare, or safety of the public; or
(6) maltreats or abandons a patient.
(b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board shall give notice to an individual of
the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested case
hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board shall initiate a contested case hearing
according to chapter 14.
(c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days
after closing the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days
after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
(d) After six months from the board's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or
refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the
opportunity to apply to the board for reinstatement.
    Subd. 6. Temporary suspension. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the
board may temporarily suspend the registration of an individual after conducting a preliminary
inquiry to determine whether the board believes that the individual has violated a statute or rule
that the board is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by
the individual would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.
(b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting an individual from providing emergency
medical care shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and
shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
(c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the
individual personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for
nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board for the individual.
(d) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension order, the board shall schedule a
hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within
60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of
the board's receipt of a request for a hearing from the individual, whichever is sooner. The hearing
shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the
temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
(e) Evidence presented by the board or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit. The
individual or the individual's designee may appear for oral argument.
(f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the
suspension is continued, notify the individual of the right to a contested case hearing under
chapter 14.
(g) If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice
under paragraph (f), the board shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The
administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing
of the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after
receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
History: 1997 c 199 s 13; 1999 c 245 art 9 s 35,36; 2004 c 144 s 3,4; 2005 c 147 art 10 s 5

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569