Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

144.226 FEES.

Subdivision 1.Which services are for fee.

The fees for the following services shall be the following or an amount prescribed by rule of the commissioner:

(a) The fee for the administrative review and processing of a request for a certified vital record or a certification that the vital record cannot be found is $9. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(b) The fee for processing a request for the replacement of a birth record for all events, except when filing a recognition of parentage pursuant to section 257.73, subdivision 1, is $40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(c) The fee for administrative review and processing of a request for the filing of a delayed registration of birth, stillbirth, or death is $40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(d) The fee for administrative review and processing of a request for the amendment of any vital record is $40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(e) The fee for administrative review and processing of a request for the verification of information from vital records is $9 when the applicant furnishes the specific information to locate the vital record. When the applicant does not furnish specific information, the fee is $20 per hour for staff time expended. Specific information includes the correct date of the event and the correct name of the subject of the record. Fees charged shall approximate the costs incurred in searching and copying the vital records. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(f) The fee for administrative review and processing of a request for the issuance of a copy of any document on file pertaining to a vital record or statement that a related document cannot be found is $9. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

Subd. 2.Fees to state government special revenue fund.

Fees collected under this section by the state registrar shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund.

Subd. 3.Birth record surcharge.

(a) In addition to any fee prescribed under subdivision 1, there shall be a nonrefundable surcharge of $3 for each certified birth or stillbirth record and for a certification that the vital record cannot be found. The state registrar or local issuance office shall forward this amount to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit into the account for the children's trust fund for the prevention of child abuse established under section 256E.22. This surcharge shall not be charged under those circumstances in which no fee for a certified birth or stillbirth record is permitted under subdivision 1, paragraph (a). Upon certification by the commissioner of management and budget that the assets in that fund exceed $20,000,000, this surcharge shall be discontinued.

(b) In addition to any fee prescribed under subdivision 1, there shall be a nonrefundable surcharge of $10 for each certified birth record. The state registrar or local issuance office shall forward this amount to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the general fund.

Subd. 4.Vital records surcharge.

In addition to any fee prescribed under subdivision 1, there is a nonrefundable surcharge of $4 for each certified and noncertified birth, stillbirth, or death record, and for a certification that the record cannot be found. The local issuance office or state registrar shall forward this amount to the commissioner of management and budget to be deposited into the state government special revenue fund.

Subd. 5.Electronic verification.

A fee for the electronic verification or electronic certification of a vital event, when the information being verified or certified is obtained from a certified birth or death record, shall be established through contractual or interagency agreements.

Subd. 6.Alternative payment methods.

Notwithstanding subdivision 1, alternative payment methods may be approved and implemented by the state registrar or a local issuance office.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569