Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

1998 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

115A.908 Motor vehicle transfer fee.

Subdivision 1. Fee charged. A fee of $4 shall be charged on the initial registration and each subsequent transfer of title within the state, other than transfers for resale purposes, of every motor vehicle weighing more than 1,000 pounds. The fee shall be collected in an appropriate manner by the motor vehicle registrar. Registration plates or certificates may not be issued by the motor vehicle registrar for the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle subject to the transfer fee unless the fee is paid. The fee may not be charged on the transfer of:

(1) previously registered vehicles if the transfer is to the same person;

(2) vehicles subject to the conditions specified in section 297A.25, subdivision 11; or

(3) vehicles purchased in another state by a resident of another state if more than 60 days have elapsed after the date of purchase and the purchaser is transferring title to this state and has become a resident of this state after the purchase.

Subd. 2. Deposit of revenue. Revenue collected shall be credited to the motor vehicle transfer account in the environmental fund.

Subd. 3. Repealed, 1997 c 216 s 160

HIST: 1984 c 654 art 2 s 96; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 231; 1989 c 335 art 4 s 35; 1993 c 172 s 59,60; 1995 c 220 s 97

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569