Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Fee charged.

A fee of $10 shall be charged on the initial registration and each subsequent transfer of title within the state, other than transfers for resale purposes, of every motor vehicle weighing more than 1,000 pounds. The fee shall be collected by the commissioner of public safety. Registration plates or certificates of title may not be issued by the commissioner of public safety for the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle subject to the transfer fee unless the fee is paid. The fee may not be charged on the transfer of:

(1) previously registered vehicles if the transfer is to the same person;

(2) vehicles subject to the conditions specified in section 297A.70, subdivision 2; or

(3) vehicles purchased in another state by a resident of another state if more than 60 days have elapsed after the date of purchase and the purchaser is transferring title to this state and has become a resident of this state after the purchase.

Subd. 2.Deposit of revenue.

Revenue collected under this section shall be credited to the environmental fund.

Subd. 3.

[Repealed, 1997 c 216 s 160]

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes