There is imposed an excise tax of 6.5 percent on the purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.
The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota.
In lieu of the tax imposed in subdivision 1, there is imposed a tax of $10 on the purchase price of any passenger automobile described in section 297B.025, subdivision 1.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes