Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Notwithstanding any provisions of section 171.04, relating to the age of an applicant, the commissioner may issue a driver's license to a person who has attained the age of 15 years but is under the age of 16 years, who, except for age, is qualified to hold a driver's license and who needs to operate a motor vehicle because of personal or family medical reasons. Applicants shall apply to the commissioner for the license on forms prescribed by the commissioner. The application shall be accompanied by written verified statements by the applicant's parent or guardian and by a doctor setting forth the necessity for the license. The commissioner in issuing such license may impose such conditions and limitations as in the commissioner's judgment are necessary to the interests of the public safety and welfare.


1975 c 23 s 1; 1986 c 444

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes