Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

246.54 LIABILITY OF COUNTY; REIMBURSEMENT.

Subdivision 1.County portion for cost of care.

(a) Except for chemical dependency services provided under sections 254B.01 to 254B.09, the client's county shall pay to the state of Minnesota a portion of the cost of care provided in a regional treatment center or a state nursing facility to a client legally settled in that county. A county's payment shall be made from the county's own sources of revenue and payments shall equal a percentage of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at a regional treatment center or a state nursing facility according to the following schedule:

(1) zero percent for the first 30 days;

(2) 20 percent for days 31 to 60; and

(3) 75 percent for any days over 60.

(b) The increase in the county portion for cost of care under paragraph (a), clause (3), shall be imposed when the treatment facility has determined that it is clinically appropriate for the client to be discharged.

(c) If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 80 percent of the cost of care for days 31 to 60, or 25 percent for days over 60, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53.

Subd. 2.Exceptions.

(a) Subdivision 1 does not apply to services provided at the Minnesota Security Hospital. For services at the Minnesota Security Hospital, a county's payment shall be made from the county's own sources of revenue and payments. Excluding the state-operated forensic transition service, payments to the state from the county shall equal ten percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends at the facility. For the state-operated forensic transition service, payments to the state from the county shall equal 50 percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day, or the portion thereof, that the client spends in the program. If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 for services provided at the Minnesota Security Hospital, excluding the state-operated forensic transition service, exceed 90 percent of the cost of care, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 for the state-operated forensic transition service exceed 50 percent of the cost of care, the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53.

(b) Regardless of the facility to which the client is committed, subdivision 1 does not apply to the following individuals:

(1) clients who are committed as sexual psychopathic personalities under section 253D.02, subdivision 15; and

(2) clients who are committed as sexually dangerous persons under section 253D.02, subdivision 16.